Skip to main content

Open Access and Scholarly Publishing

:

OA Books

Open Content Alliance

open content alliance
Boston College is a member of the Open Content Alliance (OCA), a collaborative global effort to build a permanent archive of multilingual digitized text and multimedia material. OCA content is hosted by the Internet Archive. Boston College has contributed more than 1,400 titles to the OCA initiative.

HathiTrust

HathiTrust logo

 

HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. HathiTrust began in 2008 as a collaboration of the thirteen universities. There are now more than fifty partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide. Boston College recently joined HathiTrust.

The Hathitrust collection includes nearly 10,000,000 digitized items, and over 2,000,000 are in the public domain, available to anyone with an internet connection.

The initial focus of the partnership has been on preserving and providing access to digitized book and journal content from the partner library collections. This includes both in copyright and public domain materials digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, and Microsoft, as well as through in-house initiatives.

Boston College is a Hathitrust member.

Directory of Open Access Books

A finding aid for thousands of peer-reviewed open access books from many academic publishers.

Search Directory of Open Access Books

DPLA Initiative

The DPLA (Digital Public Library of America) is a large-scale digital public library in a single platform and portal, providing open and coherent access to our society’s digitized cultural heritage. Initial funding  for the DPLA was provided by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. It is guided by a board of directors comprised of leading public and research librarians, technologists, intellectual property scholars, and business experts from around the country. and is based in Boston in the historic Boston Public Library.

DPLA Updates

Loading