Local & World
This is the "Home" page of the "NU210/NU472/NU402 : Geographic Information Systems for Public Health" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

NU210/NU472/NU402 : Geographic Information Systems for Public Health   Tags: geographic_information_systems, nursing, public_health  

Software and data sources for researchers using Geographic Information Systems (GIS) for public health.
Last Updated: May 8, 2012 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/nu210 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Scope

GIS is an important tool for analyzing Public Health issues. This guide highlights  software and data available to Boston College students in areas of public health.

GIS Support

Please don't hesitate to contact us if you need help locating or using GIS data:

Barbara Mento
Email:barbara.mento@bc.edu
or
Constantin Andronache
Email: constantin.andronache@bc.edu

      

    Class Data

    Data will be made available in class.  

    See description:

    MassHEIS
    Server location: http://library.silentspring.org/ArcGIS/services

    Other options:

    Metadata for Massachusetts Deaths by Town from Harvard Geospatial Library

    Metadata for Massachusetts HIV/AIDS Incidence from Harvard Geospatial Library

    BC Demographic Data

    Boston College owns several years of demographic data from our software vendor ESRI. This data includes selected Census data with geographic boundaries from the block level up to the national level. Additional data for roads, water and parks are also included. A select amount of international data can also be found. All data ArcGIS compatible.

    Maps and Data 2004. ESRI (BC Community Only) Data Description
    Maps and Data 2000. ESRI (BC Community Only)  Data Description*
    Maps and Data 1998 . ESRI (BC Community Only) Data Description Link temporarily unavailable.

    * Includes Individual state maps.

    • American Community Survey 5-year average
      When available select Create Map, select variable and download as shapefile.
    • Neighborhood Change Database Required browser Internet Explorer.  Icon
      Contains nationwide tract-level data from the 1970, 1980, 1990 and 2000 decennial censuses with tract boundaries that are consistently defined across census years. Contains long form census data with details such as population, household, and housing characteristics, income, poverty status, education level, employment, housing costs, immigration, and other variables. Software creates customized, exportable data and map reports.
    • MassHEIS Data Download. ArcGIS format.
      You can use ArcGIS to view and analyze MassHEIS data by using ArcWeb Services. ArcWeb services allow you to load the MassHEIS map services as 'layers' within ArcGIS, exposing them to the wide array of tools that are available with ESRI's ArcGIS suite. To load the services in ArcGIS, go to File - Add Layer - GIS Servers, and use the address: http://library.silentspring.org/ArcGIS/services
    • Census 2000  Icon  
      Rating
      Contains complete Census 2000 long form data and calculating tools for access and mapping.

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Barbara Mento
    Contact Info
    O'Neill 313
    617-552-3354
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip