This is the "Background" page of the "Islamic Spain/al-Andalus/Sepharad: Text, Image, Monument" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

Islamic Spain/al-Andalus/Sepharad: Text, Image, Monument  

Last Updated: Jan 13, 2014 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/islamicspain Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Background Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

al-Andalus Map

Religion & Philosophy

Jews & Judaism

Music

Start Here

Oxford Bibliographies Online
Peer-reviewed, annotated bibliographies; browseable by subject area and keyword searchable:

*Start with this one on Muslim Spain

  • Encyclopedia of Islam, 2nd ed  Icon
    Authoritative source not only for religion, but also regarding Islamic peoples and the countries in which they live.
  • Encyclopaedia Islamica  Icon
    Based on the abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world.
  • Oxford Islamic Studies Online  Icon
    Several digitized print sets including Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art & Architecture and Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World.
  • Medieval Iberia: an encyclopedia
    O’Neill Stacks DP99 .M33 2003

Art & Architecture

  • Oxford Art Online  Icon
    Essential digital version of Grove Dictionary of Art.
  • Heilbrunn Art History Timeline (Met)
    Iberian Peninsula, 500-1000 A.D.
  • ARTstor  Icon
    Over 1.5 million digital images in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
  • ArchNet
    Online community of architects, planners, urban designers, and scholars, focused on Muslim cultures and civilizations. Note they're changing site design in Jan...
  • Oxford Islamic Studies Online  Icon
    Several digitized print sets including Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art & Architecture and Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World.

Literature

Science & Medicine

  • Medieval science, technology, and medicine: an encyclopedia
    O’Neill Stacks Q124.97 .M43 2005

History

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip