Skip to main content

Irish Music

:

Tunes (Print & Online)

Find Tunes Online

A few freely available sites for finding notated versions of tunes:

Historical Collections (Print)

A select list of well-known published tune collections.

Breathnach, Breandan. Ceol Rince na hEireann. Baile na Cliath: Oifig an Solathair, 1963-<1985>. (O'Neill Library: M1744.C44; Burns Library Irish Music Archives: M1744 .C44 GENERAL)

Bunting, Edward. The Ancient Music of Ireland: The Bunting Collections. (Burns Library Irish Music Center Reference: M1744 .B942 A5 2002 REFERENCE). A compilation of Bunting's three major publications, which are also available in separately published versions. The 1796 volume is available online to the BC Community.

Fleischmann, Aloys. Sources of Irish Traditional Music, c. 1600-1855. 
New York: Garland, 1998. (O'Neill Library Reference: ML128.F74 F54 1998)

Joyce, P.W. Old Irish Folk Music and Songs: a Collection of 842 Irish Airs and Songs. London: Longmans, Green, 1909. (Burns Library: M1744 .J73 IRISH)

O'Neill, Francis. The Dance Music of Ireland: 1001 Gems. Dublin: Walton's, 1986. Reprint of 1907 ed. (O'Neill Library: M1744 .D267x 1986)

O'Neill, Francis.  O'Neill's Music of Ireland: Eighteen Hundred and Fifty Melodies. Pacific, MO: Mel Bay, 1996. Reprint of 1903 ed. (O'Neill Library: M1744 .O57 1996)

Petrie, George. Ancient Irish Airs and Dances: 201 Classic Tunes Arranged for Piano. Mineola, NY: Dover, 2002.  (O'Neill Library: M32.8 .A6 2002) (Originally published: Ancient Music of Ireland from the Petrie Collection. Dublin : Pigott & Co., 1877.)

Petrie, George. The Complete Collection of Irish Music. London: Boosey, 1902-1905. (Burns Library: M1744.P49 C6 1902 IRISH). Facsimile reprint: Felinfach: Llanerch, 1994-1995 (O'Neill Library: M1744 .P475 1995)

Petrie, George. The Petrie Collection of the Ancient Music of Ireland. Cork: Cork University Press, 2002. (O'Neill Library: M1744 .P48 2002; Burns Library: M1744 .P48 2002 IRISH)

Shields, Hugh. Tunes of the Munster Pipers: Irish Traditional Music from the James Goodman Manuscripts. Dublin: Irish Traditional Music Archive, 1998. (O'Neill Library: M1744 .T86 1998)