Boston College University Libraries

Irish Genealogy (Irish Studies): Home

The aim of this guide is to point users to resources that assist genealogical research.
Related Guides
Searching for Ancestors

The Irish-American newspaper was published weekly in New York City for an Irish immigrant population. Like the Pilot a Boston newspaper that for many years catered to an Irish immigrant population, the paper ran advertisements for missing persons.  The column was entitled "Information Wanted." The ads often contain Irish counties, townlands and parishes from which missing persons came.  The data can be very useful for people doing family history research.  The book listed below contains transcriptions of the ads.

DeGrazia, Laura Murphy and Haberstroh, Diane Fitzpatrick. Irish Relatives and Friends From the "Information Wanted Ads" in the Irish-American 1850-1871. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Company, 2001. (O'Neill Stacks:E184.I6 D44 2001)

For a database containing records of many ads published in the Boston Pilot click on the link to the website below.

Irish Genealogical Resources at Boston College

The Irish Genealogy guide highlights genealogical resources in the Boston College Libraries. Genealogical resources come in many formats.  Boston College Libraries hold books, journals, microfilms and electronic resources that assist the genealogical researcher.  The tabs above are organized by kinds of resources.  Each resource listed will have location information, and, in some cases, information on how to use a resource.

Please note that personalized genealogical research services are not available through the Boston College Libraries.  This type of service may be available from independent researchers or from other institutions.

There are several "How To" books listed on this page that will help you get started on family history research.  In addition, the "Ireland Roots" website provides an introductory page, Getting Started on Your Family History.

The John J. Burns Library of Rare Books and Special Collections at Boston College features manuscript collections related to Boston area businesses that list names and other vital information of Irish immigrants to the Boston area.  See Banking/Business, the Irish and Irish Americans and Boston Area collections.

"How To" Guides
Baxter, Angus. In Search of Your British & Irish Roots: a Complete Guide to Tracing Your English, Welsh, Scottish & Irish Ancestors. Toronto: Macmillan Canada, 1994. (O'Neill Library: Ref. CS414.B38 1994)

Baxter, Angus. In Search of Your European Roots: a Complete Guide to Tracing Your Ancestors in Every Country In Europe. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1985. (O'Neill Library: Ref. CS403.B39 1985)

Begley, Donal F. Irish Genealogy: a Record Finder. Dublin: Heraldic Artists, 1981. (O'Neill Library: Ref. CS483.I74; O'Neill Library: CS483.I74 )


Directory of Irish Genealogy
. Dublin: Divelina Publications,1990- (O'Neill Library: CS481.D57)


Falley, Margaret Dickson. Irish and Scotch-Irish Ancestral Research: A Guide to the Genealogical Records, Methods, and Sources in Ireland. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1981. (O'Neill Library: CS483.F32 1981)


Glynn, Joseph Martin Jr. Manual for Irish Genealogy: A Guide to Methods and Sources for Tracing Irish Ancestry. Somerville,Mass.: Irish Genealogical Society, 1983. (O'Neill Library: Ref. CS483.G581983)


Grenham, John. Tracing Your Irish Ancestors: The Complete Guide. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub., 1993. (O'Neill Library: Ref. & Gov. Doc. Desk: CS483.G74x 1993; Burns Library: CS483 .G74 1993 REF.)


Heraldic Artists Ltd. Handbook on Irish Genealogy: How to Trace Your Ancestors and Relatives in Ireland. Dublin: Heraldic Artists,1984. (O'Neill Library: Ref. CS483.H36 1984; O'Neill Library: CS483.H36 1984)


Irish Ancestral Research Association. TIARA's Guide to Researching Your Irish Ancestry. Sudbury, MA: TIARA, 1993. (O'Neill Library: Ref. CS483.T527 1993)


McCarthy, Tony.:The Irish Roots Guide. Dublin: Lilliput, 1991. (O'Neill Library: CS483.M33x 1991)


Mitchell, Brian S. Pocket Guide to Irish Genealogy. Apollo, PA: Closson Press, 1988. (O'Neill Library: CS483.M57 1988)

 

O'Connor, Thomas H. The Irish in New England. Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 1985. (O'Neill Library: F15.I6 O36 1985; Burns Library: F15.I6 O36 1985 REF)


Quinn, Sean E. Trace Your Irish Ancestors. Bray, Co. Wicklow: Irish Genealogy Press, 1996. (O'Neill Library: Ref. CS483.Q86x)


Radford, Dwight A. and Kyle J. Betit. A Genealogist's Guide to Discovering Your Irish Ancestors. Cincinnati, OH: Betterway Books, 2001. (O'Neill Library: CS483.R33 2001)

Subject Guide
Kathy Williams
Contact:
O'Neill Library Room 304

617-552-4833

williakj@bc.edu
Subjects:Irish Studies