Skip to main content

History Research

:

Writing & Citing

Scholarly resources in all areas of historical research at Boston College

Citation Software

 

 

Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free Firefox, Chrome, & Safari extension that helps you collect, manage, and cite your research sources. It lives within your web browser. Zotero allows you to automatically import references and full text documents from online catalogs (e.g. BC Library Catalog, WorldCat) and databases (e.g. JSTOR, America: History & Life), as well as open websites like Amazon, newspaper sites, blogs, even Flickr and YouTube. You can then easily create automatically formatted bibliographies and in-text citations from your library of references. Zotero is a production of the Center for History & New Media and George Mason University.

Download ZoteroMore about Zotero

 


 

RefWorks is a web-based tool designed to help you organize your references and use them to create bibliographies and format citations in papers. This bibliography manager essentially allows you to create your own personal database of references by importing references from online library catalogs and article databases. It then helps you to create correctly styled in-text citations and bibliographies from your list of references.

Login to Refworks | More about RefWorks

Citation Tracking

Bibliographies allow you to follow an author's sources backwards in time. By definition, anything cited in a book or article will have been published prior to that book or article.

Citation Tracking allows you to move forward in time, following who has cited that book or article since its publication. This gives you the ability to see how influential a specific source has been, and gives you another method to follow the scholarship around a specific topic:

Writing Help

Tips for Writing History Papers (BC History Dpt)
"A set of guidelines compiled to help you avoid the most common pitfalls of essay writing."

Connors Family Learning Center
Writing tutors at the CFLC (O'Neill Library, Level 2) can help provide insight and constructive criticism at any stage of the writing process.