Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

Social Work: Global Practice  Tags: social_work public_policy human_rights humanitarian_aid refugees  

This guide highlights sources of international data and information useful to social work students in the Global Practice concentration classes.
Last update: Oct 21, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/global  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Background & Tools            Print Page
  

Tools

Get Funded

BC's Office for Sponsored Programs maintains a Grant Writer's Toolbox, providing links to some excellent guides to proposal writing, access to the SPIN database to search for funding opportunities and a page of web links to possible funders.

  • Grant Writer's Toolbox  
    Links to grant proposal writing guides.
  • SPIN Database  
    Online searchable database of funding opportunities. Available on campus only.
  • BC's Office for Sponsored Programs  
  • Annual Register of Grant Support. SWL Ref. AS911 .A2 A67 2008  
  • Foundation Directory SWL Ref AS911 .A2 F65 2006  
    Latest edition available at O'Neill Library Ref AS911 .A2 F65.
 

Country & Regional Background

For Statistics, click the Statistics tab above.

Europa World Yearbook (O'Neill Reference Desk JN1 .E85) This annual work covers political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories. It includes statistics, directory information and current analysis.

  • Background Notes  
    (US State Department) facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations for each country.
  • Country Studies  
    From the Library of Congress. Historical, political and social overviews.
  • Economist Country Briefings  
    Basic political and historical information as well as current economic information, data and forecasts.
  • Portals to the World  
    Links to information about each country from the Library of Congress.
  • World Bank Countries and Regions  
    Information about WB activities in each country, and also basic data and statistics.
  • World Factbook  
    (CIA) Includes basic facts and figures about each country.
  • World Legal Information Institute (Worldlii)  
    Provides cross-database searching for legal materials of all types for countries around the world. Includes government departments and agencies, court cases, legislation, treaties, journals and more.

About Int'l Orgs

What are they; how do they work? 

More research guides

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageJane Morris


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Social Work Library
Boston College
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
617-552-3234
Send Email

Subjects:
Social work, Public policy

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait