Home

      
     Search:
   

 
About This Guide

This guide is intended to provide an overview of resources for locating film reviews and criticisms. For further information on these and other resources or to schedule a consultation, contact the Subject Specialist for Film, Julie DeCesare, at decesarj@bc.edu or 617-552-3136.

 
 

 
Getting Started

Film reviews and film criticism and analyses may be found in a number of places depending on the the audience, source and purpose of the review.


Reviews of feature films may be found in online databases, newspapers and general interest periodicals (such as the New York Times, Newsweek or Village Voice).


Reviews and in-depth criticism and analyses of foreign films, independent films, documentaries, or other kind of films may be found in more scholarly, or academic, publications (such as Film Quarterly Screen or Historical Journal of Film, Radio and Television).

  • When looking for a film review it is useful to know:
    • The film's complete title.
    • The director's full name.
    • The year the film was released.
  • As in-depth criticism and anlyses do not always appear in same year as a film's release, you may need to look in databases and indexes for two or more years following the release date. Remember also that some films never get reviewed at all.
  • It is generally useful to consult several reviews or articles to obtain a more balanced evaluation.
  • Remember that not all indexes are electronic format. The reviews you are seeking may be in a print compilation, or in a print index to the literature. (Most of the print indexes are at the back of the main floor of O'Neill Library).
  • It is important that you yourself know as much possible about the film before you attempt to seek a review. Sources for basic information on films can be found in the following:

    Halliwell's Fim, Video and DVD Guide (O'Neill Reference PN1993.45 H27, older editions O'Neill Stacks PN1993.45 H27)
    Lists feature films by title, with dates, ratings, cast, brief synopsis and video availability.


    Internet Movie Database

    Information on over 450,000 movie & TV titles plus actors and actresses, directors, film crews, box office tallies, awards and other information.


    Magill's Cinema Annual
    (Current year in O'Neill Reference PN1993.3.M34, 1982-2005 in O'Neill Stacks PN1993.3.M34)
    Covers significant domestic and foreign films released in the United States, including extensive credits, awards and nominations, MPAA ratings and critical reviews. This annual series continues the historical perspective provided by:

    Magill's Survey of Cinema: Silent Films [3 vols. covering 1902-1936] (O'Neill Reference PN1995.75.M33)

    Magill's Survey of Cinema: English Language Films [6 vols. covering 1927-1980] (O'Neill Reference PN1993.45.M3)

    Magill's Survey of Cinema: Foreign Language Films [8 vols.covering 1928-1981] (O'Neill Reference PN1993.45.M34)


    Motion Picture Guide
    [12 vols. covering 1927-1983] (O'Neill Reference PN1995.N346 1985)
    Includes listings of cast, crew, running times, release dates, creative and technical creditis.


    New York Times Movies

    Search for movies released since 1960 and selected years from 1929. Entries include a plot description, ratings, a list of the cast, crew, awards, New York Times reviews and related films. You can also search by genre (Mystery, Horror, Thriller, etc.), country of origin and critic.


    Variety.com
    contains the entire contents of Daily Variety and Variety including film reviews dating as far back as 1914, international box office grosses, and a credits database.



 
 

Digital Media Librarian

Julie DeCesare

Contact Info:
O'Neill Library - Media Center
Email Me
View My Website / Blog
View My Other Guides

My Subjects:
Film Studies, Digital Media

 
Print This Page
Print Entire Guide



Description

  Loading content... please wait