Skip to main content

Employment

:

Library Descriptions

Individual Libraries

Bapst Library

Student employees at Bapst Library, which provides resources in art and art history, have a wide variety of responsibilities.  Work at the Information Desk involves checking out books to patrons and giving visitors general information about Bapst Library and the Boston College campus. Behind the scenes, student employees are responsible for shelf reading, shelving books, and assisting full-time staff with the processing of reserve books, periodicals and interlibrary loan items.

Burns Library

The Burns Library, which houses the rare books and special collections, hires student assistants to work in the Archives, Congressional Archives, Reading/Reference Room and the Technical Services Department. Duties vary from assisting with researchers, cataloging rare book and special collections, processing collections, writing finding aids and clerical duties. Student assistants should possess good computer and communication skills.

Educational Resource Center

The Educational Resource Center, which serves the specialized resource needs of the School of Education, employs twenty students who play a critical part in the daily functioning of the ERC. The tasks include working at the circulation desk, shelving books, processing new materials, and answering a wide variety of reference questions. The ERC is always looking for responsible and enthusiastic students who are interested in the School of Education.

O'Neill Library

The O’Neill Library is the largest library on campus.  Student employees in the O'Neill library work either in public or technical or administrative service areas, assisting full-time library staff.  Student employee responsibilities include but are not limited to working directly with the public, shelving books, delivering mail, filing paperwork, and processing library material for general use.  Student work may also involve some light physical activity such as moving book trucks as well as opening and unpacking boxes.

Social Work Library

The Social Work collection focuses on the areas of clinical social work, social policy/planning and administration, and research. Student employee responsibilities would include assisting library patrons, loaning out and checking in books and other materials, shelf-reading and reshelving materials.

Theology and Ministry Library

The Theology and Ministry Library (TML) supports research, teaching, and learning at the School of Theology and Ministry and Saint John's Seminary. Student employees at the TML are vital to the efficient delivery and maintenance of library services and perform a wide variety of duties including working at the circulation desk, assisting patrons, shelving books, processing new materials, assisting with course reserves processing, interlibrary loan, and document delivery scanning; and participating in collection-oriented projects and inventories.