Provides general clerical support to the administrative office for the Libraries. Greets visitors as they enter the administrative suite; answers phone, takes messages; runs errands and works on special projects as needed. Good customer service skills required.
Performs the post-cataloging physical processing procedures for books and other library acquisitions, including stamping and marking, applying anti-theft strips, producing and applying call number labels. Opens and checks-in shipments of books; performs basic bibliographic searching, receiving, and updating of order and item records in the library catalog. Prepares books for offsite transfer; other special projects as assigned.
Works in Alma and ABLE systems to prepare journal volumes for binding. Updates ANSI holdings, inspects items, updates record information, prepares reports, packs volumes for shipment, unpacks and verifies bound volumes, checks-in and links returned volumes.
Circulation/Reserves/Media Desk Assistant
Greets patrons that approach the service desk; checks library materials out to users and process returns; determines the eligibility of patrons for library privileges and answers general informational questions about the library both in-person and over the phone; assists with course reserve and media processing; assists with document delivery scanning. Hours may include nights and/or weekends. Good customer service skills required.
Special Libraries Assistant
Greets patrons who approach the service desk; checks library materials out to users and processes returns; determines the eligibility of patrons for library privileges and answers general informational questions about the library both in-person and over the phone; assists patrons with searching for books in Holmes, referring patrons to reference staff as necessary; shelves new books and returns; searches for missing books; maintains order in the stacks by assisting in stacks maintenance activities; assists with course reserve processing; assists with interlibrary loan and document delivery scanning; assists with exhibits. Provides technology assistance, such as maintaining printer by refilling paper and toner, fixing paper jams, helping patrons with scanners. Hours may include nights and/or weekends. May open and close the library in staff’s absence. Good customer service skills required.
Library Assistant – Late night, weekend and overnight
In addition to performing the duties of the Special Libraries Assistant, works with minimal supervision and may oversee the work of other student workers. May open or close the library and/or building and have sole responsibility for the facility at certain times. Visibly and regularly walks through all areas of the library to make staff presence evident; compiles use statistics; reports building problems to day staff or in the event of an emergency directly to university facilities or police. Exercises judgment in situations involving theft, weather and related problems, such as leaks and closures due to snow conditions, fire alarms, and the evacuation of the building. Judgment has to be used when dealing with disruptive users or users that are taken ill. Hours vary by library and needs, but includes late night hours and overnight; must be at least 18 years old. Good customer service skills required.
Greets patrons that approach the service desk; checks library materials out to users and processes returns; determines the eligibility of patrons for library privileges and answers general informational questions about the library both in-person and over the phone; loads book trucks, sorts books and shelves new books and returns, delivers loaded carts to designated areas, courier books to other libraries, maintains order in the stacks by assisting in stacks maintenance activities: shelf reading, inventory, shifting, pick-ups, sorting and pre-shelving and special projects; assists with course reserve processing; assists with document delivery scanning. Hours may include nights and/or weekends. Good customer service skills required.
Performs minor book repair and/or preparing books for more advanced preservation treatment; repairs damaged pages and creates protective housing; assists with exhibition preparation; creates and updates records and files.
Interlibrary Loan Assistant
Assists Interlibrary Loan staff in all functions of Department in both the borrowing and lending of library materials: processing of received materials including check-in and check-out procedures on both circulation and interlibrary loan software systems; processing items returned to O’Neill or received for our users; assists in maintaining files and records associated with the lending and borrowing operations.
Scan Lab/Digital Preservation Lab Assistant
Scans and processes hard copy materials into a digitized format in support of document delivery, interlibrary loan, course reserves, digital preservation, and for students needing materials for use on specialized readers or software; performs quality control procedures. Requires high level of responsibility, skill, and attention to detail as students may handle rare and valuable materials. Other projects as assigned.
Opens and sorts mail, performs basic check-in of serials, physical processing of newspapers and periodicals, including stamping, printing and applying call number labels, inserting anti-theft strips. Other special projects as assigned.
Special Collections and Archives Assistant
Significant training, a high level of responsibility and skill are required as students directly handle rare and valuable materials in a high security environment. Expected to work with minimal supervision. Conducts detailed bibliographic, biographical and historical research; digitizes special collections and archival materials; shelves, arranges, moves, and maintains special collections and archival materials; performs classification, cataloging, inventorying, organization, and indexing of special collections and manuscript collections; provides basic reference and orientation services directly to researchers; participates in mounting exhibitions and assists with conservation activities.
Technology Support Assistant
Assists and troubleshoots a wide variety of software, hardware, and printing problems for students, faculty and other library users. Diagnoses network or application problems with library workstations, print management, fax machines, scanners and photocopiers ; reports problems to supervisor if unable to resolve or calls the BC Help Center; monitors all technology equipment for any problems on a daily basis; maintains printers by refilling paper and toner, fixing paper jams. Updates technology instructions as needed. Requires minimal supervision when performing these tasks. Must have extensive knowledge of PC and/or Macintosh software and hardware. Hours may include nights and/or weekends.
Good customer service skills required.
Mailroom/Loading Dock Assistant
Picks up/processes, sorts, and delivers interoffice and campus mail; delivers supplies throughout the library; hand delivers mail to Lake St and other buildings/offices on campus; stocks supplies in the storeroom and cleans when necessary; arranges recycling materials/broken furniture for pick up by facilities staff; covers the loading dock/mailroom (open and close) in staff’s absence.
Reference Student Assistant
Maintains the reference service and collection area, including the Reference Desk area, the reference stacks, and general EIC study area. Routine tasks include: re-shelving reference books; maintaining a log of reference materials used; shelf maintenance; updating documentation; processing reference books; and wiki editing. Works on special projects as needed. Good customer service skills required.