This is the "Getting Started with Economics Research" page of the "Economics Portal" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

Economics Portal  

Starting Point for Economics Research
Last Updated: Mar 31, 2014 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/economicsportal Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started with Economics Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

News

Two Boston College economists are part of a team of researchers among six finalist organizations competing for the 2014 Franz Edelman Prize, considered the world’s premier honor for the use of advanced analytics to solve significant business and humanitarian problems

Professors Tayfun Sönmez and Utku Ünver, together with colleagues at Stanford University and MIT, have spent several years developing matching mechanisms to connect donors and recipients for paired kidney exchange. The team’s work has supported the Alliance for Paired Donation, which is developing a nationwide program to better serve more than 88,000 people waiting for kidney transplants. For Sönmez, being named a finalist is an honor, but he’s most proud of the impact the team’s work has had improving the health of individuals suffering from kidney disease and damage.

The Economics of Hope

For people suffering from kidney disease, transplants are a matter of life or death, and the process is often complex. Fortunately, thanks to trailblazing research by Boston College economists Tayfun Sönmez and Utku Ünver, the road to renewed health is becoming easier.

 

Who's Ahead in the Casino Race? 

Gambling issues are at the forefront in Massachusetts; decisions about gaming venues for several communities are pending this week.  Carroll School of Management Adjunct Associate Professor Richard McGowan, S.J., discussed the outlook as a guest on NECN "The Week in Business"



 

New Resources

Amadeus (BC Community) Access is for one year only (6/2013-6/2014)
A database of comparable financial information for public and private companies across Europe. Note BC subscription includes very large companies, about 1 million. Access is also provided via WRDS.
Bankscope (BC Community) Access for one year only (4/2013-4/2014).
Bankscope contains detailed financial information for the following public and private banks: ••Top 8,000 European banks ••Top 14,000 North American banks ••1,000 Japanese banks ••1,200 Russian banks ••Over 5,000 other major banks ••The leading 35 supranational banking and financial organizations.  Each bank report contains a detailed consolidated and/or unconsolidated balance sheet, an income statement and interim reports with up to 16 years of information. Bankscope also provides ratings, rating reports, country risk ratings and reports, news and detailed ownership information and bank structures. Access is also provided via WRDS.
MarketResearch.com (BC Community) Access is for one year only (4/2013-4/2014).
Market research reports in many industries including: service industries, consumer goods, demographics, food and beverage, heavy industry, life science, public sector and technology and medi

StateStats (BC Community)

Data coverage of each state including health care, crime, education and more. You'll find reliable, easy-to-use data from more than 80 different sources covering more than 15 years. When you find data you're interested in explore it using the mapping and graphing tools, compare it with other data sets, or export it to Excel.

Database Trials at Boston College
Check out databases on trial at BC. Includes many different subject areas.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Barbara Mento
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip