This is the "Getting Started" page of the "EC229/MD606/MH398: Forecasting/Thesis Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

EC229/MD606/MH398: Forecasting/Thesis Research   Tags: data, economic_indicators, economics, forecasting, international, statistics, times_series  

Key resources for locating time series data with monthly, quarterly or annual frequencies. Data, including economic indicators, allow students to apply forecasting theory to actual business and economic time series data.
Last Updated: Oct 25, 2013 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/econindicators Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Data Collections

  • Data-Planet Statistical Datasets  Icon
  • Statista  Icon
    Database of thousands of statistics on a wide range of topics, including media, the environment, business and industry, sports, communication, health care and more. Data can be exported to Excel and charts can be exported as picture files or directly into PowerPoint.
  • Historical Statistics of the United States
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States  Icon
    Summary data on population, health, education, labor, income, expenditures, wealth, prices, banking, finance, and insurance, domestic trade and comparative international statistics 1995 to present.
  • Business Statistics of the United States.
    O’Neill Reference HC101 .A13122 2006
  • ProQuest Statistical Insight  Icon
    Index to local, U.S. and international data. Much of data available full text.
  • StateStats  Icon
    Data coverage of each state including health care, crime, education and more. Easy-to-use data from more than 80 different sources covering more than 15 years. When you find data you're interested in explore it using the mapping and graphing tools, compare it with other data sets, or export it to Excel.
 

Identify Data Needs

Keep in mind that some frequencies or indicators may need to be calculated.

For U.S. economic and industry data start with Find U.S. Economic Indicators. Free government and library subscription databases.

For international indicators use Find International Time Series. International agencies may calculate indicators in different ways. Make sure your data is comparable.

Historical company financial information can be found at Company Time Series Data. Compustat has the longest time series for sales and other financial statement data on a quarterly and annual basis.

Find Articles
for further sources of data and overviews of industry and economic issues.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Barbara Mento
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip