Skip to main content

Data/Statistics/GIS Portal

:

Building the Research Collection

Starting Point for Data/Statistics/GIS Research

Data/Statistics/GIS

Image of zeroes and ones

The library also supports data planning and data archiving services.

Library Services

  • Data management consultations
  • Archiving Support
  • Training workshops

More on Collections

For more information about how the library collections at Boston College are being developed, go to the Collections page.

Help Us Build the Collections

Please feel free to recommend items for the library collections by e-mailing a Subject Librarian.

Data/GIS Collection Emphases

The Boston College Libraries acquire data to support research and teaching needs across disciplines.  The library supports both one time purchase and subscription data and  purchases all accompanying documentation to support data when possible Electronic formats are preferred. The library will also harvest and archive freely distributed data based on the needs of the Boston College community. Data purchases are reviewed for quality and format by Information Technology Services, Research Services partners, subject bibliographers and faculty liaisons.

Current collection strengths are in the areas of Business,  Health Care, Social and Economic Indicators, Education and Census demographics in spreadsheet and Geographic Information Systems format. Preferred formats include those compatible with software and hardware supported by Boston College, including Excel, SPSS, Stata and SAS and Geographic Information Systems shapefiles.

image of tree inventory poster

 

 

 

New Resources

Trial Databases
Check out databases on trial at BC. Includes many different subject areas.