Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

Theology  Tags: theology  

This guide is an introduction to the basic resources for doing research in theology and for beginning a biblical exegesis paper.
Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/theology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

Where's the Article?

If a database search tells you about an article but the full article's not there, don't despair.  Look for the "FindIt" button:

Integrated by the BC Libraries into many databases, "Find It" helps you get the article in one of three ways:
  1. If an article cited in one database is available in full text in another online source, there will be a direct link to the full article or, in a few cases, to the journal.

  2. If the journal in which an article appeared is available in hard copy in the BC Libraries, there will be a link to Quest, the BC Library Catalog. Click on that link and then on Availability to see where in the libraries you can find the specific issue.

  3. If the article is not available electronically or in hard copy at BC, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan Request, which will bring up a form through which you can request the Libraries to obtain the article for you (usually within 24 hours) from outside BC.
More about FindIt
 

Indexes and Databases

  • ATLA Religion Database (BC Community Only)  
    With coverage beginning in 1949, this is an index to articles, essays, and book reviews. It also includes a scripture index listing articles on particular scriptural passages.
  • The Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (1967/68-1980)  
    O’Neill Index Area/1st Floor BX800 .A1 C38. Continues Catholic Periodical Index, 1930-66 and The Guide to Catholic Literature, 1888-1967 which are shelved next to it. For material published after 1980, use the online version described in the next entry.
  • Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (BC Community Only)  
    The online version of the print index, but only covering 1981 to the present. The print index will still need to be consulted for pre-1981 citations.
  • Religious and Theological Abstracts (1958- )  
    O’Neill Index Area/1st Floor BR1 .R286. This resource indexes fewer journals than ATLA Religion Database, but its value lies in the abstracts summarizing the articles.
  • L'Année Philologique (BC Community Only)  
    An index to periodicals and essays covering ancient Greek and Latin language, history, literature, and philosophy including material about the early Christian church. For pre-1949 publications, consult the print version in the next entry.
  • L’Année philologique; bibliographie critique et analytique de l’antiquité gréco-latine (1924/26- )  
    O’Neill Index Area/1st Floor Z7016 .M35a. The print version provides citations to scholarship published earlier than the citation provided by the online L'Année.
  • International Medieval Bibliography (BC Community Only)  
    Coverage includes 1967-present. This resource provides a bibliography of all aspects of the European Middle Ages including theology and philosophy, citing material from 4000 journals and 5000 multi-author volumes.
  • Periodicals Archive Online (BC Community Only)  
    Useful for finding articles published before the appearance of other indexes on this page. It is an archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences with access to more than 200 years of scholarship.
  • Periodicals Index Online (BC Community Only)  
    Useful for finding articles published before the appearance of other indexes on this page. Periodicals Index Online is a database of citations to millions of articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.
 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageJonas Barciauskas
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait