Where to Start
The number of companies and the depth of the information provided varies in each of these sources.
Business Source Complete and LexisNexis Academic have the most comprehensive company information. Try them first and then the other listings as needed.
For companies outside of the U.S. use Business Source Complete and LexisNexis Academic then GMID.
If the company is very small and/or private, it may be necessary to piece the information together from many sources.
Company Profiles
- Business Source Complete (BC Community Only) Includes profiles for more than 10,000 companies worldwide. Select the "Company" link on the right.
- LexisNexis Academic (BC Community Only) Click on the "Business" tab to get company stock information, bond rating, competitors, executives, brands and more.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage (BC Community Only) This database provides information on thousands of public and private companies.
- Mergent Online (BC Community Only)
Information on over 12,000 companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq exchanges and on over 20,000 international companies. - Factiva (BC Community Only) Includes profiles on most public companies in the United States and some international companies. Limited information on private companies. Select Companies/Markets, click on "Company" and enter the company name or ticker symbol.
- Global Market Information Database (GMID) (BC Community Only)
GMID includes reports and analyses of 90% of global GDP and 75% of the world's population from a consumer, country and industry perspective. It also has company information. - General Business File (BC Community Only) Information on more than 200,000 public and private companies. International in scope. Select "subject guide" search and enter company name. Look for the entry that says "Read about this company".
- Hoover's Handbook of American Business (O'Neill Reference HG4961 .H6 2008) Profiles of 750 Major U.S. Companies. Most of the information in this book can also be found in Lexis-Nexis Academic.
- Hoover's Handbook of World Business (O'Neill Reference HG4009 .H66 2008) This book profiles 300 large enterprises based outside of the United States. Includes publicly traded companies, conglomerates, private businesses, and government owned entities.
- Faulkner Advisory for Information Technology Studies - FAITS (BC Community Only) The database contains hundreds of current reports covering key technology areas and includes profiles of technology companies. It is international in scope.
Subject Guide |
617-552-2414
Contact Info:
617/552-2414
O'Neill Library
Boston College
Send Email
Subjects:
Business, Business Law, Music
617/552-2414
O'Neill Library
Boston College
Send Email
Subjects:
Business, Business Law, Music
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait