Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

Social Work: Global Practice  Tags: social_work public_policy human_rights humanitarian_aid refugees  

This guide highlights sources of international data and information useful to social work students in the Global Practice concentration classes.
Last update: Oct 21st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/global  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Statistics            Print Page
  

Statistics on Aid

Development and Refugees

Conflict Statistics

 

Finding Aids

  • Statistical Data Catalog (BC Community Only)  
      
    Catalog of free and subscription data. Most links lead to direct data downloads. Search for international or cross-national in additon to your topic keywords.
  • Statistical Universe (BC Community Only)  
      
    Very comprehensive index to statistical information, with some access to data. Click on Search Abstracts and select International and Intergovernmental sources (IIS).

Country Data Sources

The following resources are excellent sources of statistics from many countries. For a more detailed guide go to International and U.S. Statistics.

  • FAOSTAT  
    This website provides access to over 3 million time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture. FAOSTAT contains data for 200 countries and more than 200 primary products and inputs, just in its core.
  • International Financial Statistics. (BC Community Only)  
    This extensive data set is a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. Information is presented in country tables and in tables of area and world aggregates.
  • OECD Statistical Compendium(Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development) (BC Community Only)  
    The OECD includes 30 countries with a commitment to democratic government and the market economy. The OECD Statistical Compendium delivers a selection of the most frequently used OECD statistics. Monthly, Quarterly or Annual time series.
  • UNdata  
    A single entry point to a variety of statistical resources of the UN System. It pools major UN databases and those of several international organizations and includes Key Indicators and MDG Indicators.
  • U.N. Women's Indicators and Statistics (BC Community Only)  
    This dataset contains up to 608 'selected indicators,'or variables, for 180 countries mainly covering the period 1966-1997, and some projections up to 2010.
  • World Development Indicators (BC Community Only)  
    Includes 600 indicators in 83 tables, arranged in six sections: world view, people, environment, economy, states and markets, and global links. The tables cover 148 economies and 14 country groups with basic indicators for a further 62 economies.
  • World Health Organization Data and Statistics  
    National statistics for 50 core indicators on mortality, morbidity, risk factors, disease, service coverage, and health systems.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageJane Morris


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Social Work Library
Boston College
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
617-552-3234
Send Email

Subjects:
Social work, Public policy

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait