Dictionaries & EncyclopediasGuides to the LiteratureTreatises
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

Chemistry  Tags: chemistry chemical_information chemical_data  

Major print and online resources for chemistry
Last update: Jul 30th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/chemistry  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

Where is that article anyway?

Use the indexes shown here to find references to articles about your topic or by the author you're researching. To get to the full-text of the article, just click on the FindIt button button next to the reference.

No FindIt button? Some databases, instead, show their own links to the html or pdf versions.

If there are no links (and no FindIt button), then copy down the bibliographic information (author, journal title, year, volume, pages) and search Quest to see if we have a print version of the journal.

If you can't find it in Quest, order a copy through the Interlibrary Loan service here at Boston College.

Journal Abbreviations Help

  • All that JAS (Journal Abbreviation Sources) -- Chemistry  
  • CASSI (Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index)  
    The gold standard for journal abbreviations in chemistry. Note: alphabetization is by the abbreviated form of the title. 1907 - (updated with supplements) (O'Neill Reference Desk QD1 .A51)
 

Locating Articles and then Putting your Hands on the Article

Find journal articles and other types of references by searching through Indexes (sometimes called "Databases").  Use this page as a guide to the following:

The Major Indexes for All Areas of Chemistry

For almost all chemical literature searches, these two databases are the place to start.

  • SciFinder Scholar 1907 - (BC Community Only)  
      
    Scifinder Scholar provides online access to the complete Chemical Abstracts database, covering the world's literature of chemistry and related fields from 1907 -. All types of literature are covered, including journal articles, books, patents, etc.
  • Web of Science 1945 - (BC Community Only)  
      
    Use Web of Science to search current and retrospective information from approximately 5,600 of the most prestigious, high impact research science journals in the world. Especially known for its citation searching capability.

Indexes for Specific Areas of Chemistry

  • Beilstein Crossfire Database 1771 - (BC Community Only)  
    Major source of organic compound data and associated literature references. Search by structure or text. Follow the link to download client-server software, or use in O'Neill Library. See Information icon to learn more.
  • Gmelin Crossfire Database (BC Community Only)  
    Analogous to Beilstein, but for inorganic and organometallic compounds. Follow the link to download the client-server software, or use in O'Neill Library. See Information icon to learn more.
  • INSPEC 1969 - (BC Community Only)  
    Important for physical chemistry research. International in scope, giving access to physics literature of many types, including books, journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, etc., from 1969 - present.
  • PubMed  
    The National Library of Medicine's primary journal literature database, considered a core database for biomedical research. Available for free on the Web.
  • Other Online Databases for Chemistry at Boston College  
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageSally Wyman


Contact Info:
O'Neill Library, Room 408
Boston College Libraries
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
617-552-4452
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait