Dictionaries & EncyclopediasGuides to the LiteratureTreatises
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

Chemistry  Tags: chemistry chemical_information chemical_data  

Major print and online resources for chemistry
Last update: Jul 30th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/chemistry  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Web Resources             Print Page
  

Sites

The Analytical Chemistry Springboard Umea University, Sweden
Pages vary widely in how recently they were updated, but this is considered one of the primary analytical chemistry gateway sites.

BRENDA
Developed and maintained at the Institute of Biochemistry at the University of Cologne, BRENDA is a database of enzyme functional data for approximately 3,500 enzymes. Searchable by enzyme names and synonyms, E.C. (Enzyme Commission) number, CAS Registry Number, reaction and reaction type, organism, substrate, etc. Providing data, literature references, and commentary on strain and database sources.

ChemInfo
Created by Gary Wiggins, this site has long been considered one of the very best places to start when looking for a well-organized and thorough approach to chemical information -- on the Web and in print. Under the Resource Guides button, look for SIRCh ("Selected Internet Resources in Chemistry") for a carefully evaluated selection of Web resources.

Heterocycles Database: natural products with heterocyclic ring systems
Natural products with heterocyclic rings systems for which structures have been determined or synthesized since 1975. The major journals are surveyed. The database is divided into synthesis and structure sections.
Chemistry Central
          Published by BioMedCentral, long a leader in providing access to open access, peer-reviewed literature for biology, the
          Chemistry Central gateway represents a major move in this direction for chemistry. Beilstein Journal of Organic Chemistry               and Chemistry Central Journal are just two of the journals provided here.
Links for Chemists
Part of the WWW Virtual Library, Links for Chemists offers easy navigation and a wealth of information under such categories as University Chemistry Department (in the U.S. and abroad), Companies/Industry, Chemical Literature, Chemical Information, and many subject-specific categories. One of the best.

Novel Antibiotics Database
Substances which were first reported in th Journal of Antibiotics (Japan Antibiotics Research Association).

Science.gov (Chemistry and Chemicals)
This is the recently redesigned gateway to scientific resources produced by the U.S. government. There are a number of important chemistry-related databases available here, including ChemWebBook, CHEMIDPlus, IRIS, CancerNet. etc. Many are searchable by compound name, CAS Registry Number, structure, etc.

WebReactions
A reaction database which searches particular bond changes, rather than whole molecules, allowing for more efficient searching of the more than 1 million reactions contained. Developed by Prof. James Hendrickson, Brandeis University.
      
     

    Subject Guide

    Profile ImageSally Wyman


    Contact Info:
    O'Neill Library, Room 408
    Boston College Libraries
    Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
    617-552-4452
    Send Email

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait