Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

Health Statistics  Tags: health health_care statistics  

This guide highlights health data available at the state, federal and international level in several areas of health care and health administration. Primary sources are the Federal Government and international agencies.
Last update: Apr 29th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/healthstats  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Mapping             Print Page
  

GIS

Geographic Information Systems (GIS)  at Boston College

GIS is a software system that allows data to be mapped at various geographic levels. To the right are interactive internet based mapping tools. B.C. also supports more advanced desktop mapping tools such as ArcGIS. Boston College supports the use of Geographic Information Systems (GIS) in teaching, research and administrative projects.
To learn more about GIS software and services go:
 
Finding Spatial Data for Mapping 

or Contact Barbara Mento: barbara.mento@bc.edu

      
     

    Mapping Health Data

    • American FactFinder (U.S. Census Bureau)  
      Maps demographic and socio-economic data at state, county and city levels.
    • Atlas of Cancer Mortality in the United States 1950-1994  
      National Cancer Institute World Development Indicators.
    • Atlas of United States Mortality (CDC)  
      Covers the years 1988-92 and 18 causes of death.
    • BRFSS Maps  
      Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System interactive mapping of health risk factors from 2002 to latest survey.
    • Cancer Mortality Maps & Graph Web Site  
      National Cancer Institute provides interactive maps, graphs (which are accessible to the blind and visually-impaired), text, tables and figures showing geographic patterns and time trends of cancer death rates for th
    • Geographic Information Systems at the CDC  
      Center for Disease Control mapping tool for data at state level for data back to 1991.
    • GIS and Public Health  
      National Center for Health Statistics uses Geographic Information Systems to map health statistics, geocode data, and develop analytic methods. Includes an Atlas of United States Mortality with mortality rates for many causes.
    • Health, United States  
      Chartbook from the NCHS indicating Trends in the Health of Americans. This resource includes over 140 trend tables including topics such as fertility, natality and mortality.
    • Global Health Atlas-WHO  
      Interactive mapping of health indicators by country.

    • MassStats  
      Interactive Maps and Statistical Views of Massachusetts at the City level with data for Public Health. Click on "I" icon to view data.
    • National Atlas of the United States  
      Mortality by types of Cancer (1970-94) and West Nile Virus Human Cases. To map health data select People, then select Health.
    • NationMaster-Mapping Health Data  
      Map options for country level health data.
    • StateMaster  
      State level mapping.
    • Nursing Home Info  
      This is a commercial web site that acts as a directory to nursing homes including addresses and mapping tools. Because it is a commercial site it cannot be considered comprehensive but the site will provide a sense of nursing home avail
    • Assisted Living Info  
      This is a commercial web site that acts as a directory to assisted living facilities including addresses and mapping tools. Because it is a commercial site it cannot be considered comprehensive but the site will provide a sense of as
     

    Subject Guide

    Profile ImageBarbara Mento


    Contact Info:
    O'Neill 313
    617-552-3354
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    Economics, Computer Science, Mathematics, Data/Statistics, GIS

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait