Government DocumentsPrimary SourcesSecondary Sources
This is the "Home" page of the "Irish History (Irish Studies)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

Irish History (Irish Studies)   Tags: history, ireland, irish_history, irish_studies  

This is a guide to resources in Irish and Irish-American History.
Last Updated: Jul 16, 2013 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/irishhist Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search for Books in the Boston College Libraries

Holmes, the Boston College Libraries online discovery tool, provides information about books (as well as videos, DVDs, sound recordings, and other materials) in and from the Libraries.  Enter a term or terms in the search box below and hit Go to identify items about that term and Ireland. 

For example:

  • enter "social conditions 19th century" and hit Go for books about social conditions in Ireland in the 19th century
  • enter "social conditions 19th century fiction" and hit Go for works of fiction about social conditions in Ireland in the 19th century
  • enter "social life and customs" and hit Go for works about life and customs in Ireland
  • enter biograph? and hit Go for books that are biographies about Irish people

Search Holmes for Books about Ireland:


Go to Holmes Advanced Search for more search options. 

Sources for Historical Research

Irish and Irish-American historical research calls for the use of both primary and secondary sources. See the "Sources for Historical Research" tab above for more information on types of sources.  The "Sources for Historical Research" tab above includes links to:

Government Documents

Primary Sources

Secondary Sources

John J. Burns Library of Rare Books and Special Collections:

The Irish Collection at Burns is widely regarded as one of the most comprehensive collections of its kind outside of Ireland.  The Irish Collection and the Burns Library's manuscript collections offer valuable primary source material for those doing research in Irish history. 

      

    Irish Bound Pamphlets

    The Burns Library holds Irish bound pamphlets.  These bound volumes contain a myraid of publications from the 18th to 20th centuries on topics that include politics and history that someone valued enough to have bound into volumes.  Try the search below to get a list of over 1700 pamphlets related to Ireland.

    Go to Holmes Advanced Search.  Change the "Anywhere in record" drop-down menu to "Local Collection Name," and search for Irish Bound Pamphlet Collection

        

      Subject Guide

      Profile Image
      Kathy Williams
      O'Neill Library Room 304
      Contact Info
      Send Email
      Subjects:
      Irish Studies
       
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip