Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

Literary Research  Tags: literary_research writing_an_english_paper surfing_the_web literature  

This guide is intended to assist students who are conducting research on literature in English.
Last update: Oct 26th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/litresearch  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Archives             Print Page
  
 

Archival Material

Conducting good research of literary topics often necessitates the examination of archival material.

Primary Sources
This is the "raw data" of scholarship. Literary scholars use as many primary sources as possible. For researchers interested only in the intellectual content, the transcribed words in print, microfilmed, or Web format suffice.

However, literary researchers generally prefer to examine the actual original form of a primary source, (e.g. the physical letter, the actual manuscript which Wordworth or Graham Greene wrote).

While a photocopy of the original letter or manuscript provides the intellectual data, the "thrill" of handling an original handwritten poem of Edgar Allan Poe is generally much greater than looking at a copy.

 

 
 

Archival Material at Boston College

Don't forget that BC's Burns Library has a very large collection of archival material related to literary figures and topics. Click here for a useful overview of the major manuscript collections in Burns. To learn more about manuscripts holdings, contact the Burns Library reference staff.

Finding Other Archives

The numerous special collections and archives in greater metropolitan Boston means that the literary scholar has tremendous opportunities for accessing important original primary sources.

To help ascertain what primary material local (and other) libraries hold, the following databases are very useful:

  • ArchivesUSA  
      
    (BC Community Only)

    Describes over 160,000 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States. One may limit one's search to a particular collection name or to a specific repository name.
  • ArchiveGrid  
      
    (BC Community Only)

    Describes historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world.
  • WorldCat  
      
    (BC Community Only)

    This online union catalog has well over 100 million bibliographic records. In the Advanced search mode one may limit one's search to archival materials.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageBrendan Rapple
Contact Info:
Room 409
O'Neill Library
Boston College

Ph: 617 5524482
Send Email

Subjects:
Education, English

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait