Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

Literary Research  Tags: literary_research writing_an_english_paper surfing_the_web literature  

This guide is intended to assist students who are conducting research on literature in English.
Last update: Oct 26th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/litresearch  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Primary Texts             Print Page
  
 

Finding Primary Texts

Anyone researching a writer or a literary topic generally consults primary literary texts. There are various options for obtaining such texts.

Quest:
An obvious strategy is to search Quest, BC Libraries' online catalog. There's a very good chance that O'Neill Library has a physical copy of the text you require.

The Web
Numerous full text literary works are freely available on the web. Particularly valuable is Google Book Search which points to hundreds of thousands of public domain books that may be downloaded as PDF copies. One may limit one's search from Google's Advanced Book Search to only those titles that are full-text.

 

 

Primary Texts Through BC Libraries Online Databases

In addition to the Quest database, BC Libraries have numerous other online databases where a very large number of electronic literary texts may be accessed. Many of these texts are authoritative editions.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageBrendan Rapple
Contact Info:
Room 409
O'Neill Library
Boston College

Ph: 617 5524482
Send Email

Subjects:
Education, English

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait