Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

Community Analysis  Tags: census demographics statistics  

This guide highlights key sources of city and state demographic statistics, economic indicators, social indicators, housing, education and industry data. Current and historical data included with links to online mapping tools. Sources are primarily online
Last update: Oct 07th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/communityanalysis  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Industry             Print Page
  

Find Data

Zip Business Patterns
Number of Business Establishments by Standard Industrial Classification and ZIP for 1998-2006. To look up zip code use

U.S. Postal Service Zip Code Lookup web site. Note zip codes can change over time when comparing earlier data.


Statistical Universe
(BC Community Only)
Indexes FBI Uniform Crime Reports and Municipal Profiles which provide crime data. A search will provide a citation for
locating the material and in many cases a link to a full table of the data.

  • Click on Search Abstracts.
  • In Enter Keywords box type topic and state. (A sample search would be:"crime and massachusetts" )
  • Under Geographic check box for: By City (You can also or limit by date or click on limit to documents in Excel format
    only)
  • Click on Search button.
  • American FactFinder Economic Census (U.S. Census Bureau)  
      
    Type in city and select state. The Geographic Area Series provides information on: Number of establishments, employment, payrolls, and receipts sales for business support organizations and includes hazardous waste disposal and recycling.
  • Chamber of Commerce Directory  
      
    Links to chambers of commerce pages for states and also business areas containing community business and community information.
  • Bureau of Labor Statistics.  
      
    Employment and consumer price data at the regional and state level. Some data for major cities.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageBarbara Mento


Contact Info:
O'Neill 313
617-552-3354
Send Email

Subjects:
Economics, Computer Science, Mathematics, Data/Statistics, GIS

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait