Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

Community Analysis  Tags: census demographics statistics  

This guide highlights key sources of city and state demographic statistics, economic indicators, social indicators, housing, education and industry data. Current and historical data included with links to online mapping tools. Sources are primarily online
Last update: Oct 07th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/communityanalysis  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Crime            Print Page
  

Find Data

Law Enforcement Management and Administrative Statistics (U.S. Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Statistics)
Local Law Enforcement Agency Profile by large cities including employment, demographic composition, functions, agency Operations, salaries, employment requirements and training, and crimes reported summary.


MassStats Internet Explorer recommended.
           Interactive Maps and Statistical Views of Massachusetts at the City level with data for Education, Housing, Crime, Politics and Public Health. Click on the "I" icon icon then click on city to see data table.


National Archive of Criminal Justice (National Archive of Criminal Justice Data)
The archive offers a user-friendly interface to download data on criminal justice. The site includes Quick Tables of statistics and an online analysis tool, Data Analysis System (DAS).


Statistical Universe (BC Community Only)
This key database provides links to statistical tables from major crime data sources such as the FBI Uniform Crime Reports and Municipal Profiles, which provide crime data at the community level. A search will provide a citation for locating the material and in many cases a link to a full table of the data.
  • Click on Search Abstracts.
  • In Enter Keywords box type topic and state. (A sample search would be:"crime and massachusetts")
  • Under Geographic check box for: By City (You can also or limit by date or click on limit to documents in Excel format only)
  • Click on Search button.
County and City Data Book (U.S. Census Bureau)
Database with population, housing, income and labor force data for place, city, county and state. Web interface allows selection of multiple data elements to download. Selected data back to 1944.


International:

ICVS Victims Survey 1989-2000
Results of comparative survey of victim rates,fear of crime and subjective wellbeing in Europe. Note data in SPSS format.
Cities included

      
     

    Subject Guide

    Profile ImageBarbara Mento


    Contact Info:
    O'Neill 313
    617-552-3354
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    Economics, Computer Science, Mathematics, Data/Statistics, GIS

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait