Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

CO 372: Mass Communication Theory  Tags: communication mass_media  

Research sources, strategies, and support for students in CO 372: Mass Communication Theory
Last update: Sep 13th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/co372  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Books & Articles             Print Page
  
 

Where to Search

Use the resources on this page -- including communication, social science, business, and multidisciplinary databases -- to find articles and books on many topics related to mass communication.
 

Where's the Article?

If a database search tells you about an article but the full article's not there, don't despair.  Look for the "FindIt" button:

Integrated by the BC Libraries into many databases, "Find It" helps you get the article in one of three ways:
  1. If an article cited in one database is available in full text in another online source, there will be a direct link to the full article or, in a few cases, to the journal.

  2. If the journal in which an article appeared is available in hard copy in the BC Libraries, there will be a link to Quest, the BC Library Catalog. Click on that link and then on Availability to see where in the libraries you can find the specific issue.

  3. If the article is not available electronically or in hard copy at BC, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan Request, which will bring up a form through which you can request the Libraries to obtain the article for you (usually within 24 hours) from outside BC.
More about FindIt
 
 

Social Sciences Quick Search

Use this search box to to do a quick search of several key social science databases at once. Go to Advanced Search for more options or use the individual databases linked to on this page.

Enter your search terms:

Communication Studies Databases

Social Science & Business Databases

Scholarly articles about mass communication can be found in a wide variety of disciplines.  Key examples are listed below, but for many topics databases in other disciplines may be valuable as well. For links to key databases and other sources by discipline, see the Research Help by Subject pages on the Libraries website.
  • CSA Social Sciences Search (BC Community Only)  
    Searches Communication Abstracts, PyscINFO, Sociological Abstracts and other social science databases all at once.
  • Sociological Abstracts (BC Community Only)  
    Abstracts and indexes international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
  • PyscINFO (BC Community Only)  
    Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines including psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
  • PAIS International (BC Community Only)  
    Abstracts and indexes literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general, including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, and other materials.
  • Business Source Complete (BC Community Only)  
    Contains 3,050 full text scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business.

Multidisciplinary Databases

  • Quest, the BC Libraries Catalog  
      
    Gateway to books, journals, magazines, government documents, CDs & DVDs, and other material available from the Boston College Libraries.
  • Dissertations & Theses Full Text (BC Community Only)  
      
    Citations and abstracts to more than 2 million dissertations and masters theses in all fields produced in colleges and universities with full text of most dissertations published since the mid-1990s.
  • Academic OneFile (BC Community Only)  
      
    An interdisciplinary index to journals and magazines in a wide variety of disciplines including: social sciences, humanities, science and technology journal, and national news, as well as general interest magazines, newswires, and many others.
  • JSTOR (BC Community Only)  
      
    An archive of fully searchable back issues of scholarly journals in anthropology, African- American studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, general science, history, literature, music, philosophy, political science, sociology, and statistics.
 

Communication Librarian

Profile ImageKen Liss


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
617-552-2183
O'Neill Library
Boston College
Send Email

Subjects:
Communication

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait