Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

CO 372: Mass Communication Theory  Tags: communication mass_media  

Research sources, strategies, and support for students in CO 372: Mass Communication Theory
Last update: Sep 13th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/co372  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Picking A Topic             Print Page
  
 

Looking for Ideas?

Are you trying to select a topic for a mass communication theory paper? 

Try some of the suggestions on this page to get overviews of mass comm issues, questions, and subjects that are in the news and/or of interest to scholars.

 

Broad Database Searches

Try a broad search like "advertising" or "violence" or "body image" during the literature search on your topic and you're likely to be overwhelmed by the results.

But do a broad search (using the databases in the Finding Books & Articles section of this guide) when trying to select a topic and it will help you get a sense of some of the many ways scholars have approached an issue.

 
 

Browse Mass Communication Encyclopedias

 

 

SUBJECT ENCYCLOPEDIAS provide concise overviews of a wide range of topics related to mass communication.  Browse through any of the following for context and and basic information on topics that you can explore more fully. 

International Encyclopedia of Communication

Encyclopedia of Television, 2nd Edition. (O'Neill Reference PN1992.18.E53 2004) 1999 Edition Online

Encyclopedia of Radio. (O'Neill Reference PN1991.5.M84 2004)

Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications. (O'Neill Reference P87.5 .E532 2003)

Encyclopedia of Television News. (Also in O'Neill Reference PN4888.T4 E53 1999)

Encyclopedia of Public Relations. (O'Neill ReferenceHD59.E48 2005)

Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising. (O’Neill Reference HF5803 .A38 2003)

Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media. (O’Neill Reference HQ784 .M3 E53 2007)

 

Facts.com & CQ Researcher: Topic Overviews

The Issues & Controversies section of the database Facts.com combines factual analysis and explanations of opposing points of view on a wide variety of topics and issues that are newsworthy, controversial, and often complex.

Go to Facts On File (formerly Facts.com) (BC Community Only). Click  Issues & Controversies, then look at "Arts, Entertainment, and the Media" in the Subject Index.


CQ Researcher provides lengthy overviews of "hot" economic, political or social issues. Each report includes charts, graphs, sidebar articles, a pro/con feature, a chronology, and more.

Go to CQ Researcher (BC Community Only). Click on Browse by Topic and look for ideas under "Communications and the Mass Media."

 

Communication Librarian

Profile ImageKen Liss


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
617-552-2183
O'Neill Library
Boston College
Send Email

Subjects:
Communication

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait