This is the "Major Citation Styles" page of the "OLD Citing Sources & Creating Bibliographies (OLD)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

OLD Citing Sources & Creating Bibliographies (OLD)   Tags: apa_help, apa_style, bibliography, chicago_style, citation, citing, documenting_sources, mla_style, works_cited  

Citation Styles and Citation Management Tools
Last Updated: Nov 13, 2013 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/content.php?pid=411734 Print Guide Email Alerts

Major Citation Styles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About this Guide

Citing sources is the foundation of scholarly writing. Scholars of every type and rank regularly consult citation style guides. This guide should help you find all the resources you need to create accurate citations and lists of works cited in the three major citation styles (APA, MLA, and Chicago), in the sciences, and in a variety of other styles.

Use this tab (Major Styles) for direct links to BC guides and external guides on the three major styles.

Use the Citation Management Tools tab to access software tools to help you collect, organize, and output citations and bibliographies automatically.

Use the Style Manuals tab to locate more comprehensive, detailed print and online style manuals for many different citation styles.

 

Check with Your Instructor

Librarians can help you locate the right resources for your research tasks, including style guides. Many librarians can even provide some citation instruction. For the following questions, however, you should check with your instructor:

  • Which citation style should I use?
  • Does this information need to be cited?
  • When should I quote, and when should I paraphrase or summarize?
  • How do I know whether my paraphrase is too close to the original language?
  • Is this bibliographic entry correct?
 

Major Citation Styles

 

APA

(American Psychological Association)

Psychology, Business, other Social Sciences

BC APA Guide        |   Purdue OWL APA Guide


 

Chicago

History, Religion & Theology, other Humanities, some Sciences

BC Chicago Guide      |    Chicago Quick Guide


 

MLA

(Modern Language Association)

English Literature, non-English Literature, Language, other Humanities

BC MLA Guide           |   Purdue OWL MLA Guide

 

Get Help

  • Ask the FAQ  
      

    Quick answers to common questions.
  • Chat with a Librarian 24/7  
      
  • Text a Librarian

    Text 617-229-5222 for quick answers during reference hours.
  • Email a Librarian  
      
  • Call a Librarian  
      

    617-552-4472: O'Neill reference desk.
  • Find a Subject Librarian  
      
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip