Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

CO 451: Gender Roles & Communication  Tags: gender communication womens_studies  

A guide to research for students in the Prof. Cuklanz's Gender Roles & Communication course.
Last update: Jul 21st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/co451  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Primary Sources             Print Page
  
 

About Primary Sources

Resources available from the BC Libraries -- online and offline -- and on the Web can be rich sources of material for critical analysis about gender roles and communication. The examples on this page are just a sampling of resources you may find valuable.

 

Popular Magazines

Popular magazines are a frequent object of analysis in communication studies.  Most academic libraries, including the Boston College Libraries, do not, however, maintain collections of many popular magazines. 

There are other ways of getting them, including local public libraries and, for hard-to-find titles or issues, interlibrary loan. Let me know if you need help with a particular magazine.

 

 

Television & Movies

The Media Center on Level 2 of O'Neill Library maintains large collections of movies and television shows on DVD and video. DVDs and videos can be checked out for four days (with the exception of those on Course Reserve or marked Faculty Loan Only, which must be watched in the Media Center). 

Selected Sources of Print & Broadcast Ads

  • Vanderbilt Television News Archive (BC Community Only)  
      
    This index database of national network television news programs includes streaming video of NBC (from 1968-) and CNN (mid 1990s-) news broadcasts as well as commercials.
  • PressDisplay (BC Community Only)  
      
    A rolling 60-day archive of more than 300 newspapers from around the world, in full color, exactly as they appear in print (including ads).
  • ProQuest Historical Databases (BC Community Only)  
      
    Search scanned images of newspapers and other periodicals, including ads, as far back as the mid-19th century.
  • Ad*Access  
      
    Presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
  • The Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920  
      
    Presents over 9,000 images, with database information, that "illustrate the rise of consumer culture, especially after the American Civil War, and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States."
  • ArtStor (BC Community Only)  
      
    A database of over 300,000 images plus descriptive information of art, architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, archeological and anthropological objects, and visual and material culture.
  • PSA Central (Registration required, but free)  
      
    The Ad Council, the producer of public service ads (PSAs) on TV and radio, in newspapers and magazines, on billboards and on the Web, makes a wide variety of these ads available for preview or download on this site.
 

Communication Librarian

Profile ImageKen Liss


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
617-552-2183
O'Neill Library
Boston College
Send Email

Subjects:
Communication

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait