Where to Search
Use the resources on this page to find articles on many topics related to gender roles and communication.
Where's the Article?
Integrated by the BC Libraries into many databases, "Find It" helps you get the article in one of three ways:
- If an article cited in one database is available in full text in another online source, there will be a direct link to the full article or, in a few cases, to the journal.
- If the journal in which an article appeared is available in hard copy in the BC Libraries, there will be a link to Quest, the BC Library Catalog. Click on that link and then on Availability to see where in the libraries you can find the specific issue.
- If the article is not available electronically or in hard copy at BC, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan Request, which will bring up a form through which you can request the Libraries to obtain the article for you (usually within 24 hours) from outside BC.
Social Sciences Quick Search
Use this search box to to do a quick search of several key social science databases at once. Go to Advanced Search for more options or use the individual databases linked to on this page.
Communication Indexes & Databases
The following communication databases are all excellent sources
of scholarly articles about gender roles and communication.
- Communication Abstracts (BC Community Only) Abstracts of major communication related articles, reports, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and other information sources.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (BC Community Only) Indexes more than 500 titles, including 200+ full text, covering communication and mass media (both scholarly and professional).
- Film Literature Index (BC Community Only) The major index to film criticism. Available online from 1974 to 2001. Available in print (O'Neill Library Reference Index Range 4) 1974-2002. Indexes over 300 international film periodicals.
- International Index to the Performing Arts (BC Community Only) IIPA draws content from international performing arts periodicals covering nearly all aspects of performing arts, from scholarly studies to snapshots of popular culture.
Databases from Other Disciplines
Scholarly research on gender and communication is not limited to the field of communication studies. Depending on the topic of your paper, you may find relevant material from one or more of several disciplines. The following are some disciplines you may find valuable and key databases in those fields. See the Online Databases page for more sources in these and other subjects.
- Gender Studies: GenderWatch (BC Community Only)
- LGBT Studies: LGBT Life Full Text (BC Community Only)
- Sociology: Sociological Abstracts (BC Community Only)
- Business: Business Source Complete (BC Community Only
- Political Science: PAIS International (BC Community Only)
- History: American History & Life (BC Community Only)
- Ethnic Studies: Ethnic NewsWatch (BC Community Only)
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Dissertations & Theses Full Text (BC Community Only)
Citations and abstracts to more than 2 million dissertations and masters theses in all fields produced in colleges and universities with full text of most dissertations published since the mid-1990s. - Academic OneFile (BC Community Only)
An interdisciplinary index to journals and magazines in a wide variety of disciplines including: social sciences, humanities, science and technology journal, and national news, as well as general interest magazines, newswires, and many others. - JSTOR (BC Community Only)
An archive of fully searchable back issues of scholarly journals in anthropology, African- American studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, general science, history, literature, music, philosophy, political science, sociology, and statistics.
Communication Librarian |
Ken Liss![]() |
Contact Info:
617-552-2183
O'Neill Library
Boston College
Send Email
Subjects:
Communication
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait