Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

CO 463: Media & Popular Culture  Tags: media popular_culture  

Research sources, strategies, and support for students in Prof. Bell's course on Media & Popular Culture
Last update: Sep 13th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/co463  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Managing Your Research             Print Page
  
 

RefWorks Works for You!

Are you having trouble keeping track of journal articles, books, Web sites, and other resources you've found while doing research for a paper?

GET TO KNOW           


RefWorks is a Web-based personal database provided by the BC Libraries that lets you collect and organize citations and access them from any computer with a Web connection.

RefWorks will even take your list and generate a bibliography of references, using APA, MLA, or another format that you select.

This page provides instructions for creating your personal RefWorks account and using it for communication research.  For more information, contact me or ask for help at Ask A Librarian 24/7.

 
 

Creating Your RefWorks Account

Here's how to set up your personal  RefWorks account:
  1. To set up your account, go to the BC RefWorks home page at http://www.bc.edu/refworks
  2. Click on "Sign up for an Individual Account" in the User Log In box on the left
  3. Follow the instructions for creating an account. (Your username and password can be anything you choose.)
NOTE: You have to be on campus to sign up for RefWorks, but once you create an account you can use it from anywhere.
 

Using RefWorks with Communication Databases

With Communication Abstracts (and other CSA Illumina databases)

1. Do your search and check off the articles you want to save.


2. Click on the RefWorks logo at the top of the list of results.


3. Click on the Export to RefWorks button.


4. Log in to your RefWorks Account.

5. Save the imported results to one of your RefWorks folders.



With Communication & Mass Media Complete (and other EBSCOHost databases)

1. Do your search and click on the link that says "Add to Folder"

.
2. After you've added one or more articles, click on the link that says "Folder View" in the Folder Has Items box on the right side of the page.


3. Click on "Select All" or check off articles individually.


4. Click on the Export icon.



5. Select "Direct Export to RefWorks"

6. Click on the Save button

7. Log in to your RefWorks Account.

8. Save the imported results to one of your RefWorks folders.


NOTE: If you use RefWorks off campus you'll need the group code (in addition to your own username and password) to log in.

 

 

Communication Librarian

Profile ImageKen Liss


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
617-552-2183
O'Neill Library
Boston College
Send Email

Subjects:
Communication

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait