Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

Interpersonal Communication  Tags: communication interpersonal nonverbal  

This guide provides help finding articles, books, background information, tests & measures, and additional support for research on interpersonal communication.
Last update: Mar 23rd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/interpersonal  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  

Key Article Databases

The following databases are the best sources for scholarly articles on interpersonal communication. See also Searching in Other Disciplines.
 

Where's the Article?

If a database search tells you about an article but the full article's not there, don't despair.  Look for the "FindIt" button:

Integrated by the BC Libraries into many databases, "Find It" helps you get the article in one of three ways:
  1. If an article cited in one database is available in full text in another online source, there will be a direct link to the full article or, in a few cases, to the journal.

  2. If the journal in which an article appeared is available in hard copy in the BC Libraries, there will be a link to Quest, the BC Library Catalog. Click on that link and then on Availability to see where in the libraries you can find the specific issue.

  3. If the article is not available electronically or in hard copy at BC, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan Request, which will bring up a form through which you can request the Libraries to obtain the article for you (usually within 24 hours) from outside BC.
More about FindIt
 
 

Social Sciences Quick Search

Use this search box to to do a quick search of several key social science databases at once. Go to Advanced Search for more options or use the individual databases linked to on this page.

Enter your search terms:

Browse Key Journals

Article databases that search many journals at one time are the best way to identify and locate articles related to your topic.  At times, however, you may want to browse important journals focused on research into interpersonal communication.  A few key examples are listed and linked to here.  (BC login is required to access the journals.)
  • Journal of Social and Personal Relationships  
      
    Publishes empirical and theoretical papers on social and personal relationships, drawing material from the fields of social psychology, clinical psychology, communication, developmental psychology, and sociology.
  • Personal Relationships  
      
    Interdisciplinary research in a wide range of personal relationships, including those between romantic or intimate partners, spouses, parents and children, siblings, classmates, coworkers, neighbors, and friends.
  • Human Communication Research  
      
    Major topic areas include language & social interaction, nonverbal communication, interpersonal communication, organizational communication, mass communication, health communication, intercultural communication, and developmental issues in communication.
  • Journal of Family Communication  
      
    Publishes research on all aspects of communication in families, including communication in family systems, communication in family relationships, and families managing communication with social systems such as mass media, education, and health care.
  • Journal of Language & Social Psychology  
      
    Covers such areas as sexual talk; social cognition; discourse analysis; gender and language; language and emotion; conversation interaction; verbal and non-verbal linkage; language planning; intergroup communication; and language and ethnicity.
  • Journal of Nonverbal Behavior  
      
    Presents original theoretical and empirical research on all major areas of nonverbal behavior including paralanguage, proxemics, facial expressions, eye contact, face-to-face interaction, and nonverbal emotional expression.
 

Searching in Other Disciplines

Because interpersonal communication takes place in so many contexts, research on interpersonal communication can be found in databases focused on many different fields.

Examples include education, business & management, nursing & health sciences, political science, and others.

If your topic includes interpersonal communication in one of these fields, be sure to include sources from the particiular discipline in your search.

For links to key databases and other sources by discipline, see the Research Help by Subject pages on the Libraries website.

 

Communication Librarian

Profile ImageKen Liss


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
617-552-2183
O'Neill Library
Boston College
Send Email

Subjects:
Communication

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait