ENGL8805: Beckett

Criticism

This guide provides an introduction to primary source materials owned by the Burns Library that relate to Samuel Beckett as well as databases, websites and other online research tools that may help you in your research on Beckett and his works.

Locating Scholarly Material on Samuel Beckett: Major Literature (and Drama) Specific Databases

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1926 to the present.
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
LION points to full text articles, references to articles, monographs and dissertations, related websites, etc.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
This large online collection of literary criticism provides a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Multiple search and browse options are provided.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), 1920 - This link opens in a new window
Covers periodical articles, monographs, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Draws content from international performing arts periodicals covering nearly all aspects of performing arts, including Dance, Theater, Film, Opera, Radio,Television, Storytelling, Video and Performance Art, from scholarly studies to popular culture. Has much content on Beckett and his drama.

Locating Scholarly Material on Samuel Beckett: Non Literary Databases

Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry-including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more. Much on aspects of Beckett's drama
Essay and General Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Access to nearly 65,000 essays contained in some 5,300 anthologies and collections. Much Beckett related material.
Humanities Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 320 humanities journals, magazines, and quality newspapers published in the UK and other English speaking countries.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
References to books, articles, etc. on history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to present. Much literature (and Beckett) related material.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
An index for finding essays, book reviews, and journal articles in theological and religious disciplines. Also much literature (and Beckett) coverage.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Includes journal articles, books, anthologies, and book reviews. Over 480 journals indexed. Numerous studies pertaining to literature. Studies on Beckett are well represented.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of popular British periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project Muse offers full-text, online access to hundreds of humanities, arts, and social sciences journals. Much Beckett related coverage.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital archive of fully searchable back issues of scholarly journals in a number of disciplinary areas. Much Beckett related coverage.
FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 4,200 journals in the humanities and social sciences published in European languages. Much Beckett related material.

Finding Books in Holmes

Searching Holmes
Holmes the Boston College Libraries online discovery tool . The Library has almost three million volumes and the collections pertaining to all aspects of the life and work of Beckett are very good.

Try some Subject searches. For example, enter the following search term in the search box below:

"Beckett, Samuel"

Search Holmes by Keyword(s) in Subject

Go to Holmes Advanced Search for more search options.

Dissertations on Samuel Beckett

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to more than 2 million dissertations and masters theses in all fields produced in North American colleges and universities from 1861 to the present, and from around the world since 1988. The full text of dissertations published since 1997 is also available for download.

O'Neill Library

Bapst Library

Burns Library

Educational Resource Center

Law Library

Social Work Library

Theology & Ministry Library

O'Connor Library

Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies

ENGL8805: Beckett

Criticism

Locating Scholarly Material on Samuel Beckett: Major Literature (and Drama) Specific Databases

Locating Scholarly Material on Samuel Beckett: Non Literary Databases

Finding Books in Holmes

Dissertations on Samuel Beckett