Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

Geology and Geophysics 

This is a guide to the major resources in geology and geophysics here at Boston College.
Last update: Sep 23rd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/geology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

Where's the Article?

If a database search tells you about an article but the full article's not there, don't despair.  Look for the "FindIt" button:

Integrated by the BC Libraries into many databases, "Find It" helps you get the article in one of three ways:
  1. If an article cited in one database is available in full text in another online source, there will be a direct link to the full article or, in a few cases, to the journal.

  2. If the journal in which an article appeared is available in hard copy in the BC Libraries, there will be a link to Quest, the BC Library Catalog. Click on that link and then on Availability to see where in the libraries you can find the specific issue.

  3. If the article is not available electronically or in hard copy at BC, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan Request, which will bring up a form through which you can request the Libraries to obtain the article for you (usually within 24 hours) from outside BC.
More about FindIt
 
 

Geology Quick Search

Use this search box to to do a quick search of key geology databases. Go to Advanced Search for more options or use the individual databases linked to below.

Enter your search terms:

Databases for Geology & Geophysics

  • GeoRef (BC Community Only)  
      
    North American Geology 1693-present, world geology 1933-present. Covers journal literature, USGS publications, theses and dissertations from US and Canadian universities.
  • GeoScienceWorld (BC Community Only)  
      
    Content from over 30 full-text online journals published by 22 geoscience societies & institutes. These same resources, and more, are searchable in GeoRef.
  • Web of Science - Science Citation Index (BC Community Only)  
      
    Web of Science covers core literature in the sciences. It is particularly useful for identifying newer articles which cite important older works (citation searching). Boston College provides access to this database from 1945 - .
  • SciFinder Scholar (BC Community Only)  
      
    Online version of Chemical Abstracts, covering the literature of chemistry and related disciplines from 1907 – present with strong coverage of geochemical topics in journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, web sites and dissertations.
  • INSPEC (BC Community Only)  
      
    Indexes the literature of physics with good coverage of geophysics. Includes journal articles, books, conference proceedings, technical reports, and dissertations from 1969 on.
  • EBSCO GreenFILE  
      
    Bibliographic database of information about environmental concerns. GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.
  • scirus  
      
    A search engine for finding good quality, science-specific web-based materials.
  • Oceanic Abstracts  
    Indexes literature on living and non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics of marine and brackish environments.
 

Print Indexes for Geology & Geophysics


Palynodata File Compact Disc in the Catherine B. O'Connor Library at Weston.

Mineralogical Abstracts. O’Neill Reference Index Area TN1 .A1 M56

Oceanographic Literature Review. O’Neill Current Periodicals GC1 .O23

 

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageEnid Karr


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
O'Neill Library 310
617-552-4477
Send Email

Subjects:
Biology, Geology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait