Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

Biology 

This is a guide to the major resources for the biological and life sciences here at Boston College
Last update: Nov 02nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/biology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Useful Websites             Print Page
  

Teaching Resources

  • BioSciEdNet (BEN) Portal  
    National Science Digital Library (NSDL) Pathway for biological sciences education.Over 13,063 reviewed resources covering 77 biological sciences topics are available. Includes animations, labs, documents, webcasts and more.
  • Scitable  
    Scitable is an open online teaching/learning portal combining high quality educational articles authored by editors at NPG with technology-based community features to fuel a global exchange of scientific insights, teaching practices, and study resources.
  • Federal Resources for Education Excellence  
    More than 1,500 federally supported teaching and learning resources are included from dozens of federal agencies.

Career resources

  • ScienceJobs.com  
    Produced by New Scientist Magazine, this site lets you search for jobs in biology, chemistry and the other sciences. International listings are included.
  • ScienceCareers  
    From the journal Science
 

Useful Websites

  • BRENDA  
      
    Developed and maintained at the Institute of Biochemistry at the University of Cologne, BRENDA is a database of enzyme functional data for approximately 3,500 enzymes.
  • KEGG: Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes  
      
    An amazing site stuffed full of biochemical information and data, including KEGG Ligand, KEGG Pathway (detailed, dynamic pathway diagrams of interaction networks and reaction networks), KEGG Genes (linking genomes to biological systems).
  • National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)  
      
    PubMed is just one of the many databases included here. This suite of databases (site map to these databases) has become the primary resource for all types of molecular biology information. Use the Entrez browser to search across the databases.
  • BioMedCentral  
      
    BioMedCentral is recognized as a major force in the emergence of open access publishing in the life sciences. This gateway to biomedical information includes both open access and subscription journals, all peer-reviewed.
  • The International Union of Crystallography (IUCr)  
      
    Provides a server with a number of links and many mirrors. These sites contain e.g. information on the Union, its Commissions and Regional Associates, and its journals and other publications.
  • BiologyBrowser  
      
    Produced by a trusted source, the publisher, ISI (publisher of the Web of Science), this is a good starting point for finding information on particular organisms on the Web. Search by organism name, geography or subject.
 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageEnid Karr


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
O'Neill Library 310
617-552-4477
Send Email

Subjects:
Biology, Geology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait