Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

Biology 

This is a guide to the major resources for the biological and life sciences here at Boston College
Last update: Nov 02nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/biology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Data Resources             Print Page
  

Standard Data Tools

  • The Merck Index  
      
    Information on pharmaceuticals, common organic chemicals and laboratory reagents, natural products, elements, and inorganic compounds. Includes synonyms, physical properties, elemental composition, biological source, physical descriptions and references.
  • CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics  
      
    Chemical data as well as basic constants, units and conversion factors; general health and safety information; mathematical tables, etc. Search by substance name, molecular formula, full-text terminology, etc., or browse the text and tables.
 

Data Resources for Molecular Biology

  • National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)  
      
    NCBI's major databases, including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.
  • RCSB Protein DataBank  
      
    The primary worldwide repository for biological macromolecular structure data. PDB is a major tool for studying the structures of biological macromolecules and their relationships to sequence, function, and disease.
  • UniProt (Universal Protein Resource)  
      
    Repository of protein sequence and function data from Swiss-Prot, TrEMBL and PIR.
  • ExPASy Proteomics Server  
      
    ExpPasy (Expert Protein Analysis System) is the protein data server of the Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics (SIB). Much duplication of data with NCBI's Entrez Protein database, but offering some unique search tools.
  • EMBL-EBI (European Molecular Biology Laboratory--European Bioinformatics Institute)  
      
    The main European gateway to genetics information, offering a host of databases and tools. Some duplication with the NCBI databases, but also much that is unique.
  • Cambridge Structure Database  
      
    Repository for small molecule crystal structures, with bibliographic, chemical and crystallographic data for organic, organometallic and metallic compounds. Available in O'Neill Library at Reference workstations G1 and G6 and in Merkert.
 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageEnid Karr


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
O'Neill Library 310
617-552-4477
Send Email

Subjects:
Biology, Geology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait