This is the "History-Specific Databases" page of the "HS 300-93: Study and Writing of History: Britain and the Second World War" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

HS 300-93: Study and Writing of History: Britain and the Second World War  

Last Updated: Jul 16, 2012 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/britainww2 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

History-Specific Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

It is always advisable to consult Holmes, the Boston College Libraries online discovery tool, to locate books and other materials at BC. For example, search Holmes by Keyword(s) in Subject


Go to Holmes Advanced Search for more search options.

Other Useful Guides

Major Databases for Britain in WW2


King George VI and Queen Elizabeth tour bombed areas of London during WW2


The following are some major history-specific databases useful for conducting research in various aspects of Britain in the Second World War.
  • Historical Abstracts  Icon
    Annotated references to books, articles, and dissertations on world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Over 2,000 journals published worldwide are indexed, including key historical journals, as well as hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history.
  • Bibliography of British and Irish History  Icon
    The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing that deals with the British Isles, the British Empire and Commonwealth, the Republic of Ireland, and the Irish in America. Date of coverage ranges from 55 BC to the present.
  • Mass Observation Online  Icon
    A searchable collection of British social history material, 1937-1972. The database comprises a complete set (over 2,000) of File Reports, 1937-1972. The range of topics covered includes popular culture (cinema-going, radio and music, and the advent of television); consumerism, branding and fashion (including the rise of department stores and the New Look); sex, marriage, and the family, as well as attitudes to war, politics and America, Russia and Europe. All material is full text searchable.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Brendan Rapple
Contact Info
Room 414A
O'Neill Library
Boston College

Ph: 617 5524482
Send Email

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Elliot Brandow
Contact Info
O'Neill Library
Room 309 (Main Level)
(617) 552-1907
Send Email
Subjects:
History
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip