Background Information
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks can help you:
- get brief, factual information to supplement your research.
- Give you a good overview of a topic.
- Help you get started with ideas for your research.
- Become familiar with terminology related to the study of psychology.
Selected Print Reference Books
These titles are in the Reference Section of the O'Neill Library. These are just a few of the books you will find; there is more available for browsing.
- Encyclopedia of Social Psychology (O'Neill Reference HM1007 .E53 2007) Sage, 2007.
- The Encyclopedia of Stress. (O'Neill Reference QP82.2 .S8 E53 2007) Boston, Elsevier, 2007.
- The Consise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science. (O'Neill Reference BF31 .E52 2004) John Wiley, 2004.
- The Encyclopedia of Counseling. (O'Neill Reference BF636.54 .E53 2008) Sage, 2008.
Online Dictionaries
- Dictionary of Psychology (BC Community Only). Oxford Press, 2006.
- Dictionary of the Social Sciences. (BC community only). Craig L. Calhoun, ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2002.
Online Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Psychology (BC community only). Alan Kazdin, editor in chief.
Volume 1 (Abortion to Bystander Phenomenon)
Volume 2(Calkins-Determinants of Intelligence)
Volume 3 (Developmental Agenda-Goodenough)
Volume 4 (Government Regulation-Hamilton Rating Scale)
Volume 5 (Learning-Oppositional Defiant Disorder)
Volume 6 (Optimism-Rappaport)
Volume 7 (Rape - Systems Theory)
Volume 8 (Taine-Zubin)
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (BC community only). Neil J. Smelser, Paul D. Baltes, editors.
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Psychology (BC community only). S.R. Anthony & Miles Hewstone, editors.
- Psychology: the Key Concepts. (BC community only). Graham Roberts, editor.
Online Handbooks
- Blackwell Handbook of Adolescence.(BC community only). Edited by Gerald Adams and Michael Berzonsky Oxford : Blackwell, 2005.
- Cambridge Companion to Freud. Jerome Neu, editor, Cambridge University Press, 1991(BC community only).
- Cambridge Companion to Jung. (BC community only). Polly Young-Eisendrath and Terence Dawson, editors, Cambridge University Press, 1997.
- Handbook of Childhood Cognitive Development (BC community only). Edited by Usha C. Goswami, Oxford : Blackwell, 2004.
- Handbook of Childhood Social Development (BC Community Only) Smith & Heart, editors. Blackwell, 2004.
- Handbook of Cognition (BC Community Only) Lamberts, ed. London: Sage Publications, 2005.
- The Oxford Companion to the Mind (BC Community Only) Richard L. Gregory, ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005.
- Handbook of Cultural Psychology (BC Community Only) Kitayama, ed. New York: Guilford, 2007.
- Handbook of Psychophysiology (BC Community Only) Cacioppo, ed. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2007.
- Social Psychology: Handbook of Basic Principles (BC Community Only). Kruglanki, ed. New York: Guilford Press, 2007.
- Textbook of Psychiatry (Online Source: BC community only). American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc, 2008.
Subject Guide |
Kwasi Sarkodie-MensahOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
312 O'Neill Library
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
(617) 552-4465 (Voice)
(617) 552-8828 (Fax)
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
312 O'Neill Library
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
(617) 552-4465 (Voice)
(617) 552-8828 (Fax)
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait