Adult HealthCommunity HealthMaternal-Child HealthMental HealthNurse Anesthesia
BioethicsEvidence-based PracticeHealth StatisticsMedical & Health LawPharmacology Guides
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link

Nursing  Tags: health nursing  

Essential resources to begin your research in Nursing are included in this Research Guide.
Last update: Oct 16th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/nursing  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Pharmacology Guides            Print Page
  

Useful Websites for Pharmacology

  • Food and Drug Administration for Health Professionals  
    Includes regulations, alerts, news, and many informative links for drugs, medical devices, biologics, radiology, food safety, and dietary supplements.
  • RxMed  
    A web site edited by physicians for physicians and patients. Includes information about 3000 prescription pharmaceuticals and 400 illnesses, as well as articles written by experts.
  • RxList  
    Reports information on over 5000 products, updating every few days. FDA reports are updated yearly. Includes side effects, drug interactions, and prices.
  • Johns Hopkins Antibiotic Guide  
    Free searchable site provided by Johns Hopkins Division of Infectious Diseases, which provides “point-of-care” information about the diagnosis and treatment of infectious diseases, as well as news and literature reviews.
  • SafeMedication.com  
    American Society of Health-System Pharmacists’ web page about the safe and effective use of pharmaceuticals.
  • The Vaccine Page  
    Offers news, a database for searching reliable information about vaccines, and links to the official web pages on vaccines by country, organization, provider or the public, as well as to some full-text articles.
  • CenterWatch Clinical Trials  
    Includes “Drug Directories” which covers Drugs Newly Approved by the FDA , NMT Weekly Trial Results, Drugs Currently in Clinical Research, PDR Family Guides Drug Information, and “Drugs in Clinical Trials”.
  • eDruginfo.com  
    Provides additional links to drug updates, patient teaching, weekly herbal features, tools to be used in patient care (requires free registration), links to agencies, organizations and companies, reference books, and news summaries.
  • Selective Health Web Resources  
    This subset of “Health Web” provides a link to information on drugs and diseases, many continuing education web sites, databases and some selected full-text journals, books and reference resources, and research resources.
  • National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine  
    This center under the National Institutes of Health provides access to health information, research, clinical trials and news about complementary and alternative medicine, including herbal supplements.
 
 

Pharmacology Guides

The Reference collection keeps the current issue of various drug guides. Important sources of information about pharmacology are:

United States Pharmacopeia Dispensing Information (USP DI) (O'Neill Reference . RM 300 .U83)
The United States Pharmacopeial Convention sets the standards for pharmacology in the United States. This three volume set includes a volume on Drug Information for the Health Care Provider, Advice for the Patient, and Approved Drug Products and Legal Requirements.

Drug Facts and Comparisons (O'Neill Reserve RM 300 .F33)
Comparative analysis of over 2000 drugs and chemotherapy agents in chart format. Includes prescription and over-the-counter drugs.

Merck Index (O'Neill Reference Desk. RS 51 .M4 2006)
"Standard reference describes 10,330 significant drugs and pharmaceuticals, common organic chemicals and laboratory reagents, naturally occurring substances and plants, elements and inorganic chemicals, compounds of agricultural interest, and endogenous substances."

Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics (O'Neill Reference. RM 300 .G644 2006)
Classic text for the study of the correlation of pharmacology with medical practice and the actions and uses of drugs in connection with the various organ systems.

Mosby's Drug Consult (O'Neill Reference. RS 55.2 .P48)
A guide to generic and brand name pharmaceuticals including pricing information.

Physicians' Desk Reference (PDR) (O'Neill Reference. RS 75 .P5)
Annual guide to drugs including chemical formulation, therapeutic action, indications and contraindications. Information is provided by the manufacturer.
Series includes more specialized volumes such as PDR Guide to Drug Interactions, Side Effects, Indications, Contraindications (O'Neill Reference. RS 75 .P37), PDR for Nonprescription Drugs and Dietary Supplements (O'Neill Reference. RM 671 .A1 P48), PDR Nurses Drug Handbook (O'Neill Reference. RM 125 .P472 200), and PDR for Herbal Medicines (O'Neill Reference. RS 75 .P554)

Stockley's Drug Interactions : A Source Book of Interactions, Their Mechanisms, Clinical Importance, and Management (O'Neill Reference. RM302 .S76 2007)
Comprehensive treatment of drug interactions. More texts on this subject are in the O'Neill stacks at RM302.....

Complete German Commission E Monographs: Therapeutic Guide to Herbal Medicines (O'Neill Reference RM 666 .H33T44 1998)
Authoritative guide to the use of herbs in medicine, providing uses, indications and side effects, as well as chemical and taxonomic listings, regulations and standards. Also lists unapproved herbs. This text is supplemented by Herbal Medicine: Expanded Commission E Monographs (O'Neill Reference. RM 666 .H33 H37 2000.

Pharmacotherapeutics for Advanced Practice . (O'Neill RM 262 .P4685 2006) 
         Explains the nursing process in the use of pharmacotherapeutics in the health care setting.

 

Nursing/Health Sciences

Profile ImageWanda Anderson
Contact Info:
Thomas P. O'Neill, Jr. Library
Room 310
(617) 552-4457
Send Email

Subjects:
Nursing and Health Sciences

 

FDA MedWatch Updates


Loading RSS Feed...
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait