Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

LGBT Studies 

This library guide covers selected reference resources in the field of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Studies. It is interdisciplinary in nature, and is intended to support academic courses and individual research
Last update: Oct 07th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/glbt  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  

Subject Databases

Many disciplines include in depth LGBT scholarly research articles within the context of the subject area. Utilize the database keyword & subject searches to find articles on LGBT themes.

  • ERIC  
      
    ERIC is a vast database of journal and non-journal education literature available since 1966.
  • PsycInfo  
      
    PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines.
  • Sociological Abstracts  
      
    Contains information from approximately 1,809 journals in 30 different languages.
  • MLA International Bibliography  
      
    A subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics
 

Where's the Article?

If a database search tells you about an article but the full article's not there, don't despair.  Look for the "FindIt" button:

Integrated by the BC Libraries into many databases, "Find It" helps you get the article in one of three ways:
  1. If an article cited in one database is available in full text in another online source, there will be a direct link to the full article or, in a few cases, to the journal.

  2. If the journal in which an article appeared is available in hard copy in the BC Libraries, there will be a link to Quest, the BC Library Catalog. Click on that link and then on Availability to see where in the libraries you can find the specific issue.

  3. If the article is not available electronically or in hard copy at BC, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan Request, which will bring up a form through which you can request the Libraries to obtain the article for you (usually within 24 hours) from outside BC.
More about FindIt
 

LGBT Studies Databases

These are the major databases for researching academic scholarly articles in LGBT Studies.

  • LGBT Life Fulltext  
      
    The premiere database in LGBT Studies.
  • Womens Studies International  
      
    The database to look for articles in feminist research and scholarship across disciplines. Utilize the subject index to locate subject headings under Lesbian & Lesbianism.
  • GenderWatch  
      
    GenderWatch supports GLBT studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies with an interdisciplinary approach. Includes some core GLBT journals, and has coverage of GLBT issues in interdisciplinary journals.

Find Articles in Multidisciplinary Databases

It is also possible to find articles and news coverage in general & multidisciplinary databases such as Academic OneFile & Lexis Nexis Academic. For those exploring LGBT dissertation topics, Dissertatons & Theses Fulltext allows you to search the current research. 

  • Academic OneFile  
      
    A multidisciplinary database with fulltext articles and some LGBT journals.
  • Lexis Nexis Academic  
      
    A fulltext database including national and international news, as well as legal research.
  • Dissertations and Theses-Fulltext (Proquest)  
      
    The full text of dissertations published since 1997 is available, as well as citations and abstracts from 1861 to the present. The database covers all fields and is useful to look at current and historical trends in the field of LGBT research.
  • JSTOR  
      
    The JSTOR project is an interdiscilpinary digital archive of fully searchable back issues of scholarly journals. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available.
  • Oral History Online  
      
    Oral History Online offers more than 30,000 pages of full text content, including oral history narratives, interviews, videotapes, and audio tapes.It is good for primary source research with LGBT themes.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageLiesel Tyson
Contact Info:
Room 307
O'Neill Library
Boston College
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait