Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

LGBT Studies 

This library guide covers selected reference resources in the field of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Studies. It is interdisciplinary in nature, and is intended to support academic courses and individual research
Last update: Oct 07th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/glbt  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Human/Legal Rights             Print Page
  
 

Online Resources

American Civil Liberties Union Lesbian and Gay Rights Project 
“Founded in 1986, the Lesbian & Gay Rights Project and AIDS Project are a special division of the American Civil Liberties Union. The combined Project staff are experts in constitutional law and civil rights, specializing in sexual orientation, gender identity, and HIV”
 
Gay, Lesbian, and Straight Education Network. GLSEN (U.S.)
"GLSEN, or the Gay, Lesbian & Straight Education Network, now in its 10th year, is the leading national education organization focused on ensuring safe schools for ALL students.” Resources includes surveys such as the National School Climate Survey, a Legal Guide, and a State of the States Report with state profiles resulting from systematic research of statewide policies and their impact.

GLAD: Gay and Lesbian Advocates and Defenders.
“New England's leading legal rights organization dedicated to ending discrimination based on sexual orientation, HIV status and gender identity and expression. Includes publications on anti-discrimination laws, family law, hate crime, and other issues.”

Human Rights Campaign.
“The Human Rights Campaign is America's largest civil rights organization working to achieve gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender equality…  HRC works to secure equal rights for GLBT individuals and families at the federal and state levels by lobbying elected officials, mobilizing grassroots supporters, educating Americans, investing strategically to elect fair-minded officials and partnering with other GLBT organizations.”

Human Rights Watch: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Rights.
“Human Rights Watch is the largest human rights organization based in the United States. Human Rights Watch researchers conduct fact-finding investigations into human rights abuses in all regions of the world. Human Rights Watch then publishes those findings in dozens of books and reports every year, generating extensive coverage in local and international media.”
International Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Commission.
“The mission of the International Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Commission (IGLHRC) is to secure the full enjoyment of the human rights of all people and communities subject to discrimination or abuse on the basis of sexual orientation or expression, gender identity or expression, and/or HIV status.
Lambda Legal.
“Lambda Legal is a national organization committed to achieving full recognition of the civil rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people and those with HIV through impact litigation, education and public policy work.”
Same Sex Marriage: A Selective Bibliography of the Legal Literature. 1997-
 This guide is published by the Rutgers Law Library in New Jersey.

 
 

Print Sources

Altschiller, Donald. (2005) Hate Crimes: A Reference Handbook. Santa Barbara, CA : ABC-CLIO. (Social Work Library Reference HV6773.52 .A47 2005)
This handbook identifies GLBT people as a target population for hate crimes, as well as other groups. It is very useful in its inclusion of documents and reports such as the history of hate crimes legislation, primary source documents such as FBI statistics on hate crimes, and reports on campus hate crime prevention. There is a 56 page bibliography including videotapes and web sites.

Curry, Hayden. A Legal Guide for Lesbian and Gay Couples. Berkeley : Nolo Press, 1996.( Law General Collection KF538 .C87)

Hunter, Nan D. The Rights of Lesbians and Gay Men: the basic ACLU guide to a gay person's rights. Carbondale : Southern Illinois University Press, 1992. (Social Work Library Reference KF4754.5.Z9 R54 1992)

Leonard, Arthur S. Sexuality and The Law : an encyclopedia of major legal cases. New York : Garland Pub., 1993. 
(O’Neill Reference KF9325.A7 L46 1993)

Newton, David E. Gay and Lesbian Rights : a reference handbook. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1994. (O’Neill Reference HQ76.3.U5 N48 1994)
An introductory reference guide for the general reader covering a brief history, biographical sketches, statements & documents, a directory, and selected resources through 1994.

Sharpe, Andrew N.(2002). Transgender Jurisprudence: Dysphoric Bodies of Law. London: Cavendish Pub.
(Law General Collection K646 .S52 2002)
An examination of legal doctine and discourses within the context of transgender politics.The material is organized into four sections with subheadings. A table of cases and a table of legislation precede the introduction. A 19 page bibliography, and a general index end the handbook.

Stewart, Chuck.(2001). Homosexuality and the Law: A Dictionary. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO.
(Social Work Library Reference KF4754.5.A68 S74 2001)
An A-Z dictionary geared towards the general reader. There is a comprehensive appendix of state and local laws. There is also a useful appendix of federal & state agencies, and state human rights commissions for filing discrimination complaints. A bibliography and general index are at the end of the volume.

Witt, Stephanie., & McCorkle, Suzanne.(Eds.)(1997). Anti-Gay Rights: Assessing Voter Initiatives. Westport, CT: Praeger. 
(O’Neill Stacks HQ 76.8.U5 A67 1997)
An edited handbook of articles analyzing anti gay voter initiatives and the initiative process. Includes a 21 page bibliography, appendices with tables and text of anti-gay initiatives and a contributors list with author affiliations.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageLiesel Tyson
Contact Info:
Room 307
O'Neill Library
Boston College
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait