Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

LGBT Studies 

This library guide covers selected reference resources in the field of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Studies. It is interdisciplinary in nature, and is intended to support academic courses and individual research
Last update: Oct 07th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/glbt  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Culture             Print Page
  

Quest Searches

 
 

Culture: Literature, Film, & Theater

Performing Arts

Barrios, Richard. Screened Out: Playing Gay in Hollywood from Edison to Stonewall. New York: Routledge, 2003. (O’Neill Stacks PN1995.9.H55 B37 2003)
This historical reference focuses on gay and lesbian themes in American film, pre-Stonewall era. The main emphasis is on feature films viewed by mass audiences. Source materials include films, scripts, papers of the Motion Picture Producers and Distributors of America, studio correspondence, and interviews.

Dyer, Richard. Now You See It: Historical Studies on Lesbian and Gay Film. New York: Routledge, 1990. (O’Neill Stacks PN1995.9.H55 D94 1990)
This source focuses on films with overtly lesbian and gay subject matter that were made by lesbians and gays. Films are pre-1980, and include international films. The studies look primarily at “lesbian and gay sub-cultures and filmic traditions.” The academic material is organized into five chapters, and includes translations of foreign film titles at the back, as well as a 15 page reference list.

Foster, David William. Queer Issues in Contemporary Latin American Cinema. Austin: University of Texas Press, 2003. (O’Neill Stacks PN1995.9.H55 F67 2003)
A collection of theoretical essays that focus in depth on selected Latin American films. Homophobia is a major theme in this study, and queer issues as they are reflected and grounded in Latin American films and cultures. A filmography and bibliography are in the back of the volume.

Furtado, Ken. Gay and Lesbian American Plays: An Annotated Bibliography. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1993. (O’Neill Reference PS627.H67 F87x 1993)
A bibliography of 700 plays presented alphabetically by author. There is a title index of plays, a directory of agents, a directory of theaters and a list of related works. Inclusion in the bibliography is based on “…works containing major characters whose gay or lesbian sexuality is integral to the play's message, and plays whose primary themes are gay or lesbian.”
 

Parish, James Robert. Gays and Lesbians in Mainstream Cinema: Plots, Critiques, Casts and Credits for 272 Theatrical and Made-for-Television Hollywood Releases. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Company, 1993. (O’Neill Reference PN1995.9.H55 P37 1993)
This guide includes an introduction, chronology of films, a history of regulatory codes in the American film industry, and a 76 page index.

Peterson, Jane T. Women Playwrights of Diversity: A Bio-Bibliographical Sourcebook. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1997. (O’Neill Stacks PS338.W6 P48 1997)
A bio-bibliographical source that highlights the works of selected women playwrights who self identify as African American, Latina, Asian American, Mixed Race and/or Lesbian. There are four initial chapters devoted to introducing the playwrights within cultural context, followed by an A-Z listing of entries. The entries include brief biographical narratives, descriptions of plays, production histories of each work, play availability, awards, and selected bibliographies of critical and review articles.

Stewart, Steve. (1993). Gay Hollywood: Film & Video Guide: Over 75 years of Male Homosexuality in the Movies. Laguna Hills, CA : Companion Publications.  (O’Neill Stacks PN1995.9.H55 S74 1993)
This A-Z guide has over 400 films covering the period from the silent era to films made in 1993. Mainstream, independent, foreign, and documentary films are included. All genres are represented from action movies to science fiction. The focus is on gay male themes, and the reviews and ratings are written from a gay perspective. Accompanying sections include Film Quotes, Film Festivals, Rating and Genre Indices, and Mail Order Video Sources.
 
Literature


Leap, William.(Ed.) (1995.) Beyond the Lavender Lexicon: Authenticity, Imagination, and Appropriation in Lesbian and Gay Languages. Australia ; United States: Gordon and Breach. (Kenny-Cottle Stacks HQ76.25 .B495 1995 @334159)
A collection of essays that discuss gay and lesbian languages and their relationships to politics, language, and gender. Special attention is paid to the specific cultural contexts in which languages are developed and used. An introduction & contributors list with author affiliations prefaces the volume, and a 30 page bibliography is in the back.

Malinowski, Sharon. (Ed).(1994-1998) Gay & Lesbian Literature. Detroit: St. James Press. (O’Neill Reference PN56.H57 G36 1994)
A two volume A-Z introduction to 20th century gay and lesbian literature. The author entries include biographical information, writings by the author, writings about the author, and critical essays. Volume One has a general author index, as well as nationality, gender,awards, and general subject and genre indices.

Murphy, Timothy F., Poirier, Suzanne.(Eds.)(1993) Writing AIDS: Gay Literature, Language, and Analysis. New York: Columbia University Press. (O’Neill Stacks PS153.G38 W74 1993)
A collection of thirteen essays analyzing the literature on AIDS, and the impact of AIDS on gay literature. A nineteen page Annotated Bibliography of Aids Literature, 1982-91 is included as is a Contributors List with author affiliations and major works.

Nelson, Emmanuel S. (Ed.) (1993). Critical Essays: Gay and Lesbian Writers of Color. New York: Haworth Press, Inc.
(O'Neill Stacks PS153 G38 C75)
This source is intended in part to address the white bias of the field of gay literary criticism and scholarship. It includes twelve essays that examine the works of selected African American, Asian American, Latino(a), and Native American writers. It challenges queer as well as straight racism, and ethnic as well as mainstream homophobia. 
 
Nelson, Emmanuel S. (Ed.) (1993).Contemporary Gay American Novelists: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press. 
(O’Neill Reference PS374.N63 C66 1993)
An A-Z source of 50 contemporary gay American novelists. Entries include biographical information, bibliographies, interpretive summary of major works, and critical reception.
 
Pollack, Sandra. (Ed)(1993). Contemporary Lesbian Writers of the United States: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1993. (O’Neill Reference PS153.L46 C65 1993)
An A-Z source of 50 contemporary lesbian American novelists. Entries include biographical information, bibliographies, interpretive summary of major works, and critical reception. 

Slide, Anthony. Lost Gay Novels: A Reference Guide to Fifty Works From the First Half of the Twentieth Century. New York: Harrington Park Press, 2003. (O’Neill Stacks PS374.H63 S65)
Written for students and scholars in GLBTQ studies, this source includes works that have negative as well as positive attitudes toward homosexuality in an examination of societal prejudices of the times. Each entry includes contemporary reviews and historical information relevant to the title and the author. The entries are organized alphabetically by author, and there is an appendix of titles in chronological order, as well as a general index.

Slide, Anthony. Gay and Lesbian Characters and Themes in Mystery Novels: A Critical Guide to Over 500 Works in English. Jefferson, N.C : McFarland & Company, 1993. (O’Neill Reference PR1309.D4 S55 1993)
This reference is arranged alphabetically by author, with a title index and an index to gay and lesbian characters at the end. Titles are listed chronologically under author, and entries include biographical and critical commentaries. There is also a list of Specialist Publishers of Gay and Lesbian Fiction.

Summers, Claude J.(Ed.)(2002). The Gay and Lesbian Literary Heritage: A Reader's Companion to the Writers and Their Works, From Antiquity to the Present. New York: Routledge.  (O’Neill Stacks PN56.H57 G365 2002)
An A-Z guide covering a variety of mostly European and American literatures, historical periods, and authors. The entries vary from in depth critical essays on major gay and lesbian writers to overviews of gay and lesbian presence in various literary traditions. Entries include brief bibliographies, and there is an appendix of notes on contributors that provides author information.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageLiesel Tyson
Contact Info:
Room 307
O'Neill Library
Boston College
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait