Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

LGBT Studies 

This library guide covers selected reference resources in the field of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Studies. It is interdisciplinary in nature, and is intended to support academic courses and individual research
Last update: Oct 07th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/glbt  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries             Print Page
  
 

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Dynes,Wayne.(Ed.) (1990). Encyclopedia of Homosexuality. New York ; London: Garland Publishing, Inc.
(O’Neill Reference HQ76.25 .E53 1990 v. 1-2.)
A two volume A-Z survey of the field geared towards the general reader. There are over 700 entries, including a readers guide to the contents and contributors list in the 1st volume, and a thematic index in the 2nd volume.

Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures. 2 vol. series:

Lesbian Histories and Cultures (Vol.1) Bonnie Zimmerman, editor. New York: Garland Publishing, Inc., 2000.
(O'Neill Stacks HQ75.5.L4395)
An A-Z encyclopedia written for a broad audience by academic scholars in the field and independent scholars, as well as political & community activists. Entries are alphabetical by subject, and include bibliographies and see references to related subject entries. There is a subject guide and contributors list including author affiliations and interests which prefaces the entries.

Gay Histories and Cultures (Vol. 2) George E. Haggerty, editor. New York: Garland Publishing, Inc., 2000.
(O'Neill Stacks HQ75.13.G37)
An A-Z encyclopedia written for a broad audience by academic scholars in the field and independent scholars, as well as political & community activists. Entries are alphabetical by subject, and include bibliographies and see references to related subject entries. There is a subject guide and contributors list including author affiliations and interests which prefaces the entries.

glbtq: An Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Culture

Hogan, Steve. (1998). Completely Queer: The Gay and Lesbian Encyclopedia. Hogan, Steve. New York: Henry Holt.
(O'Neill Stacks HQ75.H63 1998)
A concise A-Z encyclopedia focusing on the latter half of the 20th century and geared towards the general reader. The entries include brief bibliographies and cross-references to a chronology of important dates.

Hunt, Ronald J.(1999). Historical Dictionary of The Gay Liberation Movement: Gay Men and the Quest for Social Justice. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press. (O'Neill Stacks HQ76.5.H86)
Entries cover the history of the gay male liberation movement and include key organizations, leaders, issues, strategies and countries. A chronology and history of the movement precede the dictionary, and an extensive 52 page bibliography concludes it.


Ponzetti, James J., (Ed.) (2003). International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family. Ponzetti, James J., Chief Editor. New York: Macmillan Reference USA. (O’Neill Reference HQ9 .E52 2003)
A 4 volume encyclopedia that is a multidisciplinary survey which integrates gay and lesbian themes in an alphabetically organized format. The first volume has the list of articles, and the list of contributors. The 4th volume includes a comprehensive index. The articles are written by scholars in the field and include see references to other relevant articles as well as selected bibliographies.


Sears, James T.(Ed.) (2005). Youth, Education, and Sexualities: An International Encyclopedia. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press. (O’Neill Stacks LC192.6 .Y68 2005)
A two volume encyclopedia that is geared towards the general reader, glbt youth within educational settings, and the teachers, administrators, and counselors who work with them. The 242 entries are alphabetically arranged and include bibliographies. Volume 1 includes an introduction to the research on glbt youth and education. There is a contributors list at the end of Vol. 2 which includes author affiliation and information, as well as a brief general bibliography. The encyclopedia has an international focus covering 20 countries and regions.

Siker, Jeffrey S.(Ed.) (2007). Homosexuality and Religion: An Encyclopedia. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press. (O'Neill Reference BL65 .H64 H63)
A single volume encyclopedia that provides an introduction and overview of the response of major religions to  homosexuality. The encyclopedia is organized into three sections. Section 1 includes essays on Homosexuality and Religion. Section 2 is an A-Z list of brief article entries. Section 3 is a 15 page bibliography, list of websites, contributors list, and an index.

Worrell, Judith. (Ed.) (2001). Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender. San Diego, Calif: Academic Press, 2001. (O’Neill Stacks HQ1115 .E43 2001)
A two volume encyclopedia that provides coverage of the current research on the psychology of women and gender. Gay and lesbian issues are included. While the subject is psychology, allied professions such as nursing, social work, medicine, and the law would find this source useful. 
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageLiesel Tyson
Contact Info:
Room 307
O'Neill Library
Boston College
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait