Guides & Handbooks
- Abelove, Henry; Barale, Michele Aina; & Halperin, David M. (Eds.) (1993). The Lesbian and Gay Studies Reader. New York: Routledge. (O’Neill Stacks HQ 76.25 .L48 1993)
- An interdisciplinary collection of 42 scholarly essays significant in the field of lesbian and gay studies. The focus of this anthology is on contemporary trends vs. historical work, and it was designed to meet the curricular needs of undergraduate and graduate courses.
- Adam, Barry D; Duyvendak, Jan Willem; & Krouwel, Andre. (Eds.)( 1999) .The Global Emergence of Gay and Lesbian Politics: National Imprints of a Worldwide Movement. Philadelphia: Temple University Press. (O’Neill Stacks HQ 76.5. G56)
- A comprehensive overview of international gay and lesbian movements written by scholars in the field of GLBT Studies. This handbook includes national profiles of 16 countries detailing their histories of gay and lesbian political organization. Some of the countries included are Brazil, Argentina, Spain, Japan, South Africa, Romania, Hungary, and the Czech Republic, as well as European and North American countries.
- Aldrich, Robert; & Wotherspoon, Garry. (Eds.) (2001). Who's Who in Contemporary Gay and Lesbian History: From World War II to the Present Day. London ; New York: Routledge. (ONeill Stacks HQ75.2 .W46 2001)
- A concise biographical source covering the period from 1945 to 2001. “This work of reference covers figures who have had an impact upon gay and lesbian life throughout recent history, and not merely individuals who were or are themselves homosexual.” The entries were written by over 150 scholars in the field of gay and lesbian studies.
- Aldrich, Robert; & Wotherspoon, Garry. (Eds.) (2001) Whos’s Who in Gay and Lesbian History: From Antiquity to World War II. New York: Routledge.(O’Neill Stacks HQ75.2 .W47 2001)
- A comprehensive, biographical dictionary focusing on individuals that have played significant roles in gay and lesbian history, and covering the period up to 1945. The focus is primarily the western world although some entries for non-western individuals have been included.
- Bornstein, Marc H., (Ed.) (2002). Handbook of Parenting. 2nd ed. Bornstein, Marc H., Editor. Mahwah, N.J.: Erlbaum. (O’Neill Reference HQ755.8 .H357 2002)
- This is a 5 volume comprehensive source geared towards the general reader that includes articles on gay and lesbian themes. The articles are written by specialists in the field and are accompanied by lengthy bibliographies. Each individual volume is organized around a subject and includes a contributor list and author affiliation for that volume, as well as an index to all the volumes at the end.
- Crompton, Louis. (2003). Homosexuality & Civilization. Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press.(O’Neill Stacks HQ 76.25 .C76 2003)
- A history spanning 24 centuries and a dozen societies including Ancient Greece, Imperial China, Pre-Meiji Japan, and the Enlightenment to name a few. This single volume resource is useful to the student who is researching how homosexuality has been perceived and judged in different cultures and time periods. A 33 page bibliography is included.
- D’Augelli, Anthony R. & Patterson, Charlotte J. (Eds.). (2001). Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Identities and Youth: Psychological Perspectives. Oxford: Oxford University Press.(O’Neill Stacks HQ 76.2 .U5 L45)
- This single volume handbook is organized by subject and divided into three major areas: 1) Conceptual Frameworks, 2) Psychological Challenges, and 3) Issues for Intervention and Social Change. The literature reviews are geared towards researchers of developmental theory. They are written by scholars in the field with a view to providing an empirical base for further research.
- Denny, Dallas. (Ed.) (1998). Current Concepts in Transgender Identity. New York: Garland Publishing, Inc. (O’Neill Stacks HQ 77.9 .C87 1998)
- An interdisciplinary survey of the subject of transgender identity ranging from medical perspectives to historical, sociological, psychological, legal and mythological perspectives. Widely varying viewpoints are represented.
- Duberman, Martin.(Ed.) (1997). A Queer World: The Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies Reader. New York: New York University Press, 1997. (O'Neill Stacks HQ76 .Q44)
- This reference is based on revised papers initially presented at the Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies at City University of New York Graduate School. The anthologies are divided into five subject headings: 1) Mapping Identities, 2) The Terrains of History, 3) Mind/Body Relations, 4) Laws and Markets, and 5) Sexual Policies, Sexual Politics.
- Johnson, Patrick E., Henderson, Mae G. (Eds.) (2005). Black Queer Studies: A Critical Anthology. Durham: Duke University Press. (O’Neill Stacks E184.7 .B535 2005)
- A single volume handbook of essays that emerged out of the Black Queer Studies in the Millennium Conference at Chapel Hill, North Carolina April 4-6, 2000. The essays are organized around 4 themes, written by scholars in the humanities and social sciences with an interdisciplinary perspective.
- Jung, Patricia Beattie; Coray, Joseph Andrew.(Eds)(2001). Sexual Diversity and Catholicism: Toward the Development of Moral Theology. Collegeville, Minnesota: Liturgical Press. (O'Neill Stacks BX1795.H66 S49)
- A collection of essays written by theologians, scientists, and pastors that challenge the traditional church doctrine on homosexuality. The volume emerged from the symposium at Loyola at the Cenacle in Chicago in October 1999. The introduction frames the discussion around homophobia, official Church teachings, and public theological dissent.
- Kimmel, Douglas; Rose,Tara; and David, Steven.(Eds.)(2006). Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Aging. New York: Columbia University Press. (O'Neill Stacks HQ76.25.L494)
- This handbook developed out of the American Psychological Association's symposium on LGBT aging in 2002. The source is geared towards clinicians and professionals working with LGBT elders. Chapter authors discuss relevant research on the topic, and include a reference list.
-
- Nugent, Robert. (Ed.) (1984). A Challenge to Love: Gay and Lesbian Catholics in the Church. New York: Crossroad, 1984. (O’Neill Stacks BX1795.H66 C46 1984)
- This source is a collection of essays that address the teachings of the Catholic Church on homosexuality. Published in 1984, it is a useful resource to the dialogue from the mid 1970s to the early 1980s. Contributors are all from then Catholic Christian tradition and come from a variety of backgrounds including theology, ministry, psychology, and ethics.
- Quentin Crisp's Book of Quotations: 1,000 Observations on Life and Love, By, For, and About Gay Men and Women. New York: Macmillan, 1989.(O’Neill Stacks PN6084.G35 Q46 1989)
- This source is geared towards the general reader. The entries are divided into 15 subject headings ranging from art & literature to homophobia to love and marriage. Each subject has a preliminary introduction and the quotations are organized by date. A subject index and an author/source index are at the end of the volume.
- Richardson, Diane; Seidman, Steven. (Eds.)(2002) Handbook of Lesbian & Gay Studies. London, EC; Thousand Oaks, CA & New Delhi: Sage Publications, 2002.(O’Neill Stacks HQ 75.15.H36)
- An overview of the academic field of Gay and Lesbian Studies. The handbook is organized by subject and divided into 4 sections: Part 1 History & Theory, Part II Identity & Community, Part III Institutions, and Part IV Politics. An introduction including notes and references discusses the four subject areas and places the scholars work within context. A contributors list includes author affiliations, research interests, and published works.
- Ridinger, Robert B. Marks.(Ed.) (2004). Speaking For Our Lives: Historic Speeches and Rhetoric for Gay and Lesbian Rights (1892-2000). New York: Harrington Park Press (O’Neill Stacks HQ75.16.U6 S53 2004)
- An important collection of primary source material that documents the public rhetoric of the gay and lesbian movement. It begins in 1892 with the Address at the Funeral of Walt Whitman and includes “speeches, letters, poetry, manifestos, testimony at public hearings, proclamations by city officials, and remarks at venues ranging from gay and lesbian pride parades to the floor of U.S. Congress and the marches on Washington.”
- Smith, Raymond A.; Haider-Markel, Donald P. (2002). Gay and Lesbian Americans and Political Participation: A Reference Handbook. Santa Barbara, Calif : ABC-CLIO.( O'Neill Stacks HQ76.25 .S748 2002)
- “Working within the framework of the ABC-CLIO Political Participation in America Series, Gay and Lesbian Americans and Political Participation provides an overview and analysis of LGBT political participation in four crucial spheres of protest, social movement, electoral politics, and public office.” Each chapter includes references & further reading. Important documents are included at the end of the handbook, as is a list of resources, a chronology, and an annotated bibliography.
- Stewart, Chuck (Ed.) Gay and Lesbian Issues: A Reference Handbook. Stewart, Chuck Santa Barbara, Calif : ABC-CLIO, 2003.(Social Work Library Reference HQ76.25 .S748 2003)
- This reference is geared towards the general reader, and is useful as an introduction. It includes a history of gay rights, controversies, a chronology, biographical sketches, documents, cases and laws, and a bibliography.
- Witt, Lynn; Thomas, Sherry; & Marcus, Eric (Eds.)(1995). Out in All Directions: The Almanac of Gay and Lesbian America. New York: Warner Books.(O’Neill Stacks HQ75.6.U5 W57 1995)
- The almanac is organized into 10 chapters with subheadings. There are 62 authors who have a wide variety of backgrounds from community activists to professionals and academics.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait