Background Information
Websites, encyclopedias, and handbooks can help you:
- get brief, factual information to supplement your research.
- Give you a good overview of a topic.
- Help you get started with ideas for your research.
Websites
- The National Institute of Mental Health
The site features links to general information about mental illnesses and their treatments. - SAMSHA's National Mental Health Information Center
Features the latest news in mental health research, links to mental health statistics, and publications on a variety of mental health issues at both the micro and macro level. - Clinical Social Work Federation
This site features a directory of links of interest to clinical social workers.
Encyclopedia of Social Work
Now available online! This quintessential Social Work encyclopedia features entries by Karen Kayser, Demetrius Iatridis, James Lubben, Othelia Lee, and former GSSW Dean June Hopps. This four-volume work is now available online! (Online Source: BC Community Only).
New! Encyclopedia of Counseling
This four-volume encyclopedia has entries on different mental illnesses, types and theories of counseling, and counseling with diverse populations. We highly recommend browsing through these volumes if you are looking for ideas for your research, or need some general information to get you started. You will find it in the reference section at the Social Work Library.
Online Sources
- Comprehensive Textbook of AIDS Psychiatry (Online source: BC Community only). Oxford University Press, 2008.
- Gobbards' Treatment of Psychiatric Disorders . (Online source: BC community only). American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc., 2007.
- Textbook of Psychiatry (Online Source: BC community only). American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc, 2008.
- Mental Health in America: a Reference Handbook (Online Source: BC community only). Contemporary World Issues, 2007.
- Encyclopedia of Cognitive Behavior Therapy (Online Source: BC community only). Psychology Press, 2005.
- Handbook of Counseling and Psychotherapy with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Clients. (Online Source: BC community only). APA, 2007.
- Handbook of Evidence-Based Treatment Manuals for Children and Adolescents. (Onine Source: BC community only). Oxford University Press, 2008.
- Handbook of Evidence-Based Treatment Therapies for Children and Adolescents. (Online Source: BC community only). Springer, 2008.
- Humanistic Psychotherapies: Handbook of Research and Practice. (Online Source: BC community only). APA, 2002.
- Principles of Multicultural Counseling and Therapy. (Online Source: BC community only). Brunner-Routledge, 2008.
For our Offsite Students
A special note to our off-site students: if you need to use any books in our reference collection, we would be happy to e-mail you selected chapters from the books. E-mail us and let us know if you would like us to send you any chapters.
![]()
Subject Guide |
Kate SilfenKate Silfen
Reference Librarian
Social Work Library
McGuinn Hall Basement
Boston College
617-552-0792
Send Email
Subjects:
social work, psychology
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait