Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

Social Work: Health & Mental Health  Tags: social_work mental_health clinical_social_work health  

This guide was designed to help you get started with research related to health and mental health. The guide includes general reference books, web sites, and recommended journal databases.
Last update: Sep 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/swlclinical  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Journal Articles             Print Page
  
 

About Journal Databases

Online Journal Databases provide access to summaries of journal articles that have been published on a specific discipline. Please feel free to  e-mail me if you need help coming up with keywords for your database search.

 

A Note for Offsite Students

More and more of our journal subscriptions are available online. However, when you are searching a database, you may encounter an article citation that is available in a journal that we only have in print at the Chestnut Hill Campus. If that is the case, we can still get the article to you. Send us an e-mail at swlib@bc.edu, and give us the full citation of the article that you need. We will scan a copy of the article and e-mail it to you within 24 hours.

 
 

Journal Databases

Health & Mental Health Databases

  • PsycInfo
    The definitive database for finding articles related to mental health and counseling issues.
  • PILOTS
    Journal literature on trauma and PTSD.
  • Social Services Abstracts
    An excellent database for all aspects of social work research, including mental health, counseling, human services, social work education, and policy issues that impact social work practice.
  • Medline
    A good source of articles on health policy, medical social work, and psychiatry.
  • Health Reference Center
    We recommend this database if you need articles on medical issues written for a layperson.



 

 

Where's the Article?

If a database search tells you about an article but the full article's not there, don't despair.  Look for the "FindIt" button:

Integrated by the BC Libraries into many databases, "Find It" helps you get the article in one of three ways:

  1. If an article cited in one database is available in full text in another online source, there will be a direct link to the full article or, in a few cases, to the journal.

  2. If the journal in which an article appeared is available in hard copy in the BC Libraries, there will be a link to Quest, the BC Library Catalog. Click on that link and then on Availability to see where in the libraries you can find the specific issue.

  3. If the article is not available electronically or in hard copy at BC, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan Request, which will bring up a form through which you can request the Libraries to obtain the article for you (usually within 24 hours) from outside BC.

More about FindIt

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageKate Silfen


Contact Info:
Kate Silfen
Reference Librarian
Social Work Library
McGuinn Hall Basement
Boston College
617-552-0792
Send Email

Subjects:
social work, psychology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait