Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

Social Work Research Planner  Tags: social_work social_work_help social_work_research_help  

This guide will help you choose information sources and give you tips for finding books, journal articles and websites.
Last update: Nov 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/socialworkplanner  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Good Googling             Print Page
  
 

Find It

When you are working on campus, Google Scholar should provide links for each item labelled either Find It @ BC or Check BC Collections. These lead you to full text of articles or to the Quest library catalog.

You can configure Google Scholar to do this off-campus also.

  • Click on Scholar Preferences next to the basic search box and use the Find Library box to find and select Boston College.
  • Make other choices here as well, including selecting Refworks as your place to export citations.
  • Save your preferences and you will get the Find It help off campus, too.

View a 90 second video that illustrates how to set up your preferences in Google Scholar.

Specialized Searches

Try these special Google searches to find specific types or sources of content:

  • U.S. Government  
    Searches for content on U.S. government websites.
  • Book Search  
    Right now, you can search over the full text of some seven million books through Google Book Search.
    You can preview a few pages or snippets with your keywords in books still under copyright. For books in the public domain, you can find the full text.
  • Images  
    Use the advanced image search to specify size, filetype or color of the images you want to find, and search by keyword.
  • Google Advanced Search  
    If you use plain old Google, try using the advanced search, which gives you more sophisticated options, like searching for synonyms and searching in the .edu domain.
 
 

Google Scholar

We recommend that you start your search for scholarly articles in one of the journal databases, as described in the Find Journal Articles section.

You may want to supplement your searching with Google Scholar. It searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

The advanced search includes many options, including keyword, phrase and author searching, and restriction by date or country.

 

Try Google Scholar Here

 

 

Google Scholar
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageKate Silfen


Contact Info:
Kate Silfen
Reference Librarian
Social Work Library
McGuinn Hall Basement
Boston College
617-552-0792
Send Email

Subjects:
social work, psychology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait