Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

Sociology  Tags: sociology social_sciences  

This research guide covers the most useful, current and basic reference sources for sociology in various formats.
Last update: Oct 22nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/sociology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Getting Started             Print Page
  
 

About this Guide

This highly selective research guide covers the most useful, current and basic sociology sources. This guide includes sources professors expect you to consult to research and write your paper.

Since the purpose of this guide is to facilitate your research and is only part of the research process you are encouraged to contact the reference staff or me in the library or by email.

The intent is to get you started on your library research by providing the tools for research. A Step-by-Step Guide to Doing Research explains the research process. A Glossary of Terms defines library terms used in this guide.

Additional information and guidance is available from the Subject Specialist for Sociology, Shari Grove (617-552-4481; grove@bc.edu).

Note: (October 23, 2009) During Shari Grove's absence, please contact Jane Morris for assistance with this subject (617 552-3234; jane.morris.1@bc.edu).

 

Guides & Bibliographies

Aby, Stephen H. 1997. Sociology: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources. 2nd ed. Littleton, Co: Libraries Unlimited. (O'Neill Stacks HM51.A24 1997)
This bibliographic guide provides lengthy annotations for the basic sources, including web sites and social indicators

Balay, Robert and Vee Friesner, Eds. 1996. Guide to Reference Books. 11th ed. Chicago : American Library Association, 1996. (O'Neill Reference Desk Z1035.1.G89 1996)
A comprehensive, international bibliographic resource that is arranged by subject with many indexes is an indispensable tool for most librarians.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. Vol. 50 Sociology . (O'Neill Reference Z7161.I594)
This is one of the four annual bibliographies prepared by the International Committee for Social Science Information and Documentation on behalf of UNESCO. Although this is an excellent comprehensive bibliographic series covering Sociology, Economics, Political Science and Anthropology in large part it duplicates current electronic databases covering the same subjects.
      
     

    Subject Guide

    Profile ImageJane Morris


    Online Chat / Networks:

    Contact Info:
    Social Work Library
    Boston College
    Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
    617-552-3234
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    Social work, Public policy

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait