About this page
The websites and reference books listed here are meant to:
- Help you focus in on what you want to research.
- Give you brief, statistical data on an ethnic group.
- Provide you with a brief historical overview of the challenges faced by different minority groups in the United States.
For our Offsite Students
A special note to our off-site students: if you need to use any books in our reference collection, we would be happy to e-mail you selected chapters from the books. E-mail us and let us know if you would like us to send you any chapters.
![]()
Encyclopedia of Social Work
This quintessential Social Work encyclopedia features entries on different ethnic and minority groups in the United States. It is now available online.
Selected Reference Books
Online Sources:
- Encyclopedia of American Studies, (Online Source: BC Community Only) Johns Hopkins University, 2008.
- Handbook of Counseling and Psychotherapy with Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Clients. (Online Source: BC Community Only) American Psychological Association, 2006.
- Handbook of Psychotherapy and Religious Diversity (Online Source: BC Community Only) American Psychological Association, 2000.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States (Online Source: BC community only). Oboler, Suzanna, and Deena Gonzalez (Eds), 2005.
- Principles of Multicultural Counseling and Therapy,(Online Source: BC Community Only) Brunner-Routledge, 2008.
Books in the Reference Section of the Social Work Library:
-
African-American Social Workers and Social Policy. Godley, 2005. Reference HV3181.A374
-
Asian Americans: contemporary trends and issues. Min, 2006. Reference E184.A75.A84325
-
Encyclopedia of ageism. Palmore, 2005. Reference HQ76.25.S748
-
Gay and lesbian issues. Stewart, 2003. Reference HQ76.25.S748
-
Racial and ethnic diversity in America. Aguierre, 2003.Reference E184.A1
The Social Work Library has many more books in the reference section that may be helpful for your research. Please ask a librarian about these books.
Subject Guide |
Kate SilfenKate Silfen
Reference Librarian
Social Work Library
McGuinn Hall Basement
Boston College
617-552-0792
Send Email
Subjects:
social work, psychology
Description
Loading content... please wait


Loading content... please wait