Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

Social Work with Older Adults & Families  Tags: social_work gerontology older adults families  

This research guide was designed to help you get started with research related to issues that impact older adults and your families. It includes reference books to get you started, journal databases, and selected websites.
Last update: Nov 04th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/swlgerontology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Journal Articles             Print Page
  
 

Journal Databases:

  • Give you a list of journal abstracts when you type in keywords that represent your research questions.

  • Can be focused on one discipline, or multi-disciplinary in scope.
  • Have a Find it button that will link you to options for finding the full-text of the article.

  • Are a source of scholarly, peer-reviewed publications that are especially useful for social work research.
 

For our Offsite Students

A special note to our off-site students: if you need copies of journal articles that are only available in print at the Social Work Library, we will be happy to e-mail you a copy of the article. Just send us an e-mail at swlib@bc.edu and include the full citation of the article that you want. We will e-mail you a pdf version of the article within 24 hours.

 

Recommended Databases

 

 

Where's the Article?

If a database search tells you about an article but the full article's not there, don't despair.  Look for the "FindIt" button:

Integrated by the BC Libraries into many databases, "Find It" helps you get the article in one of three ways:

  1. If an article cited in one database is available in full text in another online source, there will be a direct link to the full article or, in a few cases, to the journal.

  2. If the journal in which an article appeared is available in hard copy in the BC Libraries, there will be a link to Quest, the BC Library Catalog. Click on that link and then on Availability to see where in the libraries you can find the specific issue.

  3. If the article is not available electronically or in hard copy at BC, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan Request, which will bring up a form through which you can request the Libraries to obtain the article for you (usually within 24 hours) from outside BC.

More about FindIt

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageKate Silfen


Contact Info:
Kate Silfen
Reference Librarian
Social Work Library
McGuinn Hall Basement
Boston College
617-552-0792
Send Email

Subjects:
social work, psychology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait