Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Boston College University Libraries LibGuides@BC Find materials for a specific discipline Search the catalog, database quicksets, and digital collections all set once! Full text and multi-disciplinary resources Submit feedback, report a broken link
Admin Sign In 

Social Work: Public Policy  Tags: social_work public_policy social_welfare  

A guide to finding current public policy, policy analysis and background information for policy makers.
Last update: Oct 22nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bc.edu/swlpolicy  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Journal Articles             Print Page
  
 

Search Strategies

For help learning how to search the journal databases, take a look at the Research Planner.

 

Where's the Article?

If a database search tells you about an article but the full article's not there, don't despair.  Look for the "FindIt" button:

Integrated by the BC Libraries into many databases, "Find It" helps you get the article in one of three ways:

  1. If an article cited in one database is available in full text in another online source, there will be a direct link to the full article or, in a few cases, to the journal.

  2. If the journal in which an article appeared is available in hard copy in the BC Libraries, there will be a link to Quest, the BC Library Catalog. Click on that link and then on Availability to see where in the libraries you can find the specific issue.

  3. If the article is not available electronically or in hard copy at BC, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan Request, which will bring up a form through which you can request the Libraries to obtain the article for you (usually within 24 hours) from outside BC.

More about FindIt

 

Search for Articles

All journal databases below are available to BC Community members only, and require log-in.

  • PAIS  
    (Public Affairs Information Service)
    A bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Includes information on both United States and international policy.
  • Social Services Abstracts  
    Highly recommended for research in all areas of social work.
  • Academic Onefile  
    Useful for searching the full-text and abstracts of articles in all areas of the social sciences. Includes both general news resources and more scholarly publications.
  • CQ Researcher  
    Provides analysis of current controversial issues.
  • ASSIA  
    (Applied Social Sciences and Abstracts)
    An excellent general social science database covering health, sociology, social services, economics, and race relations, and education.
  • EconLit  
    Comprehensive index to world economic literature. Published by the American Economics Association, the index covers over 400 major economic journals.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts  
    Useful for searching for national and international information about public policy and economic conditions.
  • Alt-Press Watch  
    Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines, academic and scholarly journals of the alternative and independent press including viewpoints and perspectives that are not always available in mainstream media coverage.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageJane Morris


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Social Work Library
Boston College
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
617-552-3234
Send Email

Subjects:
Social work, Public policy

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait